You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick contest for 5 SBI: help Nate pick some herbs

in #contest5 years ago

Thank you! I've been wondering about nettles recently. I want to plant them to keep my kids out of the garden 😂

Seriously though, I peaked ahead in the Permaculture Playing Cards series, and stinging nettles are coming up SOON. I need to read more about them because they sound incredibly utilitarian and beneficial. I'll go read your post now!

Sort:  

I guarantee once the kids have gotten into them once, they will not do it again... :))

Love @porters list!

Hahahahaha I was mostly kidding about that, but their playing on the swale berms (kids will be kids, I guess?) is getting annoying lol

It's also an opportunity to teach them some plants have very good, and VERY bad, properties and to respect them...

They will deter your kids but you can also teach them how they can use them as a weapon by pinching/holding it on the stem (not allowing any of the stinging leaves to touch you) allowing you to control who gets stung with the leaves. If a bully were chasing them they could use the nettle to back them off. It's all in the way you handle them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91