Contest for two shares in steembasicincome! Agriculture theme

in #contest7 years ago

So I think I have a new system.

Whenever I earn SBD, I convert it to steem, provided SBD is valued more than steem. Power up a bit, and use some for SBI shares. Long term investment. You can see the transactions in my wallet to confirm that this is actually what I'm doing. I like that feature here.

From their site:
"Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content."

Last time, I sponsored @armadilloman when he won my first contest for one share. I like the program, so I'm going to sponsor two more people.

This time we have an agriculture themed contest, but that doesn't mean your profile has to be a farming one, or that you have to be a farmer. Anyone can enter provided they participate and follow the rules. It's easy.

Here's the rules:

  1. Upvote this post so I can earn more SBD to sponsor more folks. (50/50 rewards engaged)
  2. Resteem this post so others can see it and enter.

Contest:

  1. Recommend a fruit or vegetable I can grow at home in a pot. I live in North Texas.
  2. Describe it if it's something uncommon in Texas.
  3. Post a link to an inexpensive packet of it's seeds. Not more than a couple bucks.

One or two winners this time, depending on entries. One good entry and a dozen bad ones will mean one winner for both shares. Otherwise, there will be two winners. Two total shares. I'll pick based on my favorite answer(s).

Let's get us enrolled for some more upvotes from a cool project!

Stay relevant y'all!

Nate

Sort:  

Lemons! And you Can Buy Them From The Supermarket! Just Buy A Lemon And Take The Seeds Peel Them Put Them In A Damp Paper Towel And When They Sprout Just Plant Them! Here's A Link To A How To Video! Ps.. They Grow Just Fine Here In North Dakota So i Think They Will Grow There.

Oh cool! I hadn't thought of lemons. Looks like they can be grown indoors, which is really cool!

I Had A Few For A While On My Window For A While

How productive we're they as an indoor plant? I love how much plants liven up a space, and the added benefit of producing food would be so cool.

Unfortunately Mine Didn't Survive Past The 3rd Year.. There Isn't Much Sunlight Here So I Can't Tell You.. But Based Off Of What I have Seen On The Internet After About 3-4 Years You Should See You're First 1-3Lemons! Each Year You Will Get More And More.

What part? I'm in Denton county.

We had tomatoes when I was a kid. I'm hoping to grow some soon, thanks for the link! I remember the biggest crop we did one year. We had corn, green beans, black eyed peas, tomatoes, jalapeños, and onions. We ate for weeks on what we grew, and it was a super rewarding experience. That's why I'm wanting to start a small farm for my family. It's good for the soul.

I couldnt agree more! We are getting my little girl, shes 3, into plating and she loves it so much. I think you have of an appreciation for food, especially fruits and veggies, when you grow your own. We live in Navarro County, we are about a hour south of Dallas, straight down the 45! We always do tomatoes, peppers of all sorts, snap peas and green beans and herbs but this year we are trying out some other stuff as well. We are planting some potatoes, berries, onions and a few others. Its a great way to get outside and enjoy some great Vitamin D and air... that is if we can get rid of this rain for more than a day or two! ;)

My mom had a HUGE potato harvest a couple years ago. And I remember the black eyed peas doing very well. I haven't sat down and made a firm plans yet, but when I do, I'll be sure to post here. I'm learning a lot right now.

Okay so there is a few things to keep in mind - if you take seeds from anything you buy at the store, it might not work too good since a lot of the vegetables & fruits are F1 hybrids.
F1 seeds can’t be harvested by the thrifty gardener for use the following year.

Read more at Gardening Know How: Learn About F1 Hybrid Seeds https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/propagation/seeds/f1-hybrid-seeds.htm

Heirloom and open pollinated seeds are what you should look for.

My suggestion is Tiny Tim tomato - its a bush veriety so you can grow them indoors in a pot and they have a high yield (and matures within 45 days)

()

and you can buy them here : https://www.seedsnow.com/products/tomato-tiny-tim

Wow, those look really productive! It's looking like we won't be buying as much land as I anticipated, so densely productive plants like that are going to he exactly what I'll need. Thanks!

Ah yes, you should look into vertical growing too - its a good way of utilize space

I definitely will. All I'm learning makes me more confident that we can have a little suburban farm without having to spend so much money on acreage.

https://m.dhgate.com/product/50-pcs-four-seasons-potted-sweet-honey-fig/408716326.html#s1-2-1;searl|1003548950

You might try figs in a pot, you can get seeds at the link above, but if you just prune a twig while they are dormant, then put in soil, they usually take. Dip the tip in honey. I'm in San Antonio 🇨🇱

Figs would be neat! Larabars, my favorite snack bar, usually have figs or dates as the main ingredient. How tall do they get?

The last one I had was about 4 foot high, they get kinda wide. I didn't get to cover her the day it snowed here and I lost her. I already planted a twig and hopefully it's going to take. Good luck with your growing & this fun contest.

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Almost any plants can be grown in a pot, best is to use a root pouch (grow bag) instead of a pot to avoid root bound. The root pouch is made of breatheable material which promote air pruning of the roots, you can plant rather large plants in them. I have several root pouches alongside my garden beds and I plant two everbearing mulberry trees, a moringa tree, many turmeric and black turmeric plants, two young banana trees, some stevia, a blueberry bush, some purslane and chives. The challenge being to fertilize the large plants as they consume more.

I'll be composting as I get things going, so fertile soil should abound I hope.

If you are going to do vermicomposting too and need help, let me know

I need help with everything lol

I've never heard of vermicompost

It’s basically composting with the help of worms also said worm farming.

Oh, okay, yeah. I've seen that too. I want to do a bit of all of it and have a whole ecosystem going. I'm going to spend the next couple of days writing out a plan actually. I'll be sure and make a post when it's all done. This is gonna be a long term permaculture project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82