CONTEST - WHAT TYPE OF DEAD TURTLE IS THIS?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago


I found a dead turtle on my Walk in the Park today, and decided to see if anybody here on steemit can guess what kind of turtle it is! (If you don't like pictures of dead things, you may not want to participate.)

As you may or may not know, I'm really obsessed with turtles! In fact, my username, natator88, refers to the Latin name of my favorite species of turtle, the Flatback Sea Turtle, Natator depressus.

Speaking of Latin names...


RULES

Identify this turtle using the two pictures I've provided. You must provide the Latin name. For example, if I gave you a picture of a person the correct answer would be Homo sapiens.


HINTS

  1. I photographed this turtle in North Dakota.
  2. I photographed this turtle in May.

REWARD(S)

I've decided to give out 3 rewards:

10 steem to the first person who correctly identifies this turtle with the generic and specific Latin names (that is, both Homo and sapiens of the human example).

5 steem to the first person who correctly identifies this turtle with the generic name (that is, just Homo of the human example). I decided to set this one in case nobody gets the specific name (second Latin name, e.g. sapiens.) So, I will award these 5 steem to the first person who correctly identifies the generic name if nobody else guesses the full Latin name within the time limit.

2 steem to the first person who correctly identifies the life stage of this turtle. There's not much for scale on these pictures, so the guesser will have to use their intuition! What I'm looking for here is one of the following options:

  1. Adult
  2. Juvenile
  3. Hatchling

You may want to check out this image to clarify, although it uses sea turtles as an example: Life Stages of Sea Turtles


BONUS REWARD

Another 5 steem to the first person who gives the subspecies. Back to the human example: the correct answer would be Homo sapiens sapiens.


DEADLINE

I think I will run this contest for 5 days, and if nobody has responded by that point, I may re-run it. Hopefully I have some interest!

  • So, the deadline is midnight CST on Tuesday, May 16th!

Finally, if any of my rules are unclear, please ask for clarification! I'm super excited to be hosting my first contest!
Also, please note that I may change the rules at any time. One reason I may do this is if two people respond with the correct answer at almost the same time so that I cannot tell which was first. In this case, I would probably split the first prize between the two.


Alright, here comes the important part!

PICTURES

PICTURE ONE


Carapace (top shell)

PICTURE TWO


Plastron (bottom shell)

Sort:  

What a depressing contest...
or should i say "contestis depressus"?

Haha! Nature is rough! And good pun - I like it. Contestis depressus it is!!

Latin Name: Chrysemys picta
Adult?
Emydidae
Chrysemys picta bellii

Woot! We have a winner to the first guesser! 15 steem to you. You are correct, it is A Chrysemys picta bellii, the Western Painted Turtle. However, it was a hatchling, probably 3 inches long. I realize now there actually is something for scale in the plastron-side picture; if you look closely, there's a partial cigarette butt to the right of it.

You are most welcome. Thanks for playing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60