Sort:  

That's awesome! Self assessment is what got me to switch to handkerchiefs instead of so many disposable tissues. I still keep a box of tissues on had - like, when I'm washing the handkerchiefs, for guests, etc. - but the trash assessment was what showed me that one of the big fixable parts of my trash was tissues, lol (woo, allergies!).

Interestingly my family has always used handkerchiefs, so I guess I grew up assuming that it was normal for everyone to use them. One day I overheard a conversation on how people thought it disgusting and un-hygienic. Measures to disinfect them by boiling were also seen as gross. When you get that attitude it can start to make others feel embarrassed to have a reusing lifestyle. I'm glad that is slowly changing and there is almost a trend movement towards reusables.

I still use handkerchiefs, but I do get in soft tissues for colds as it helps sore noses. Colds mostly come in winter, so the tissues go in the woodburner mostly or in the compost if it's too warm for heating. I need to use a handkerchief year round due to sinus problems.

I need to use one year round too because allergies, lol. I actually like them on my nose better! But I do still use some tissues, like when I'm washing the handkerchiefs, or I haven't grabbed a new one after putting one in the hamper, or as your thought demonstrates - when I'm out. I put recycled paper tissues in my pocket before I head out the door. It's less embarassment though (though I have seen those "gross" comments too), and more like, I have a lot of snot and putting a wet handkerchief back in my pocket would mean that it wouldn't dry, lol. I suppose if I was wearing a jacket and put it in the jacket pocket it might dry if it was alone and loose in that big pocket, but in a pair of jeans it wouldn't! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67