You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Masters' Contest # 2 – Are you a lucky person? 15 SBD prize

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

While reading so many stories from Steemiens such as @insideoutlet, @soumon lol 😂 about his lost steemit password, @brigitte0659 and so many others “why they feel lucky” it made me share my story as well. I’m very shy person. Steemit platform was the first time I’ve ever shared something personal publicaly. Perhaps, because to me steemit feels like a family.

I feel lucky not getting killed in my 20’s when my friend took me for a ride with his new sport motorcycle 🏍. We crashed head to head with incoming car, both at speed of 60 mph. That day police called me flying @milano1113. My best childhood friend had broken leg, hand and surgery of his abdomen. I was not injured at all, instead they found me laying in shock between trees 90 feet away from the accident. I also feel lucky I didn’t kill myself when I bought my first car Dodge Daytona when I had a few moments feeling extremely lucky.

There are so many times when I felt lucky to be still alive. But one “I feel lucky” stands above all. It was about two years ago when our friend had been diagnosed for the third time with cancer. One of it was skin cancer “Melanoma”the worst cancer of all skin cancers. She told us and everybody she knew to get checked, to see doctor or dermatologist. If she wasn’t diagnosed soon anough, she would not be here with us anymore. About two weeks ago her 40 years old daughter passed away, she had a cancer. She left behind two small children and husband. I’m 40 years old as well, I lost my father when I was 10, but I can’t imagine the pain of mother loosing her child.

One day I went to the beach with my wife. It was a beautiful and hot day. We went swimming, we had a great fun when she noticed this strange tiny mole on my back. She immediately remembered our friend’s advise. We scheduled an appointment with our doctor. They took biopsy from my back and we thought it all was just a precautionary. After few days past I remember shopping with my wife when I had phone cal from our doctor. I immediately knew something was not right. I picked up the phone and doctor said “you have a skin cancer melanoma”. The same day I was immediately scheduled for surgery. Fortunately it didn’t spread to my blood. Today I feel lucky 🍀, because my wife noticed this very tiny mole on my back. We both got checked from toe to head and fortunately we are healthy and in a great shape today. I’m getting checked every six months, I had about 20 precautionary biopsies since then and everything seem fine. I encourage everyone to get checked for skin cancer. Even if you don’t see anything unusual, it’s worth it. Sometimes you can’t prevent accidents, but you can prevent in many cases this killer #1. Don’t wait! It can happen to anyone!

Sort:  

Strive on and live strong my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41