You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CONTEST – “Write a PHOTO DESCRIPTION” – To celebrate my reaching the F-3000 club (Win 10 SBD, 100% upvotes)

in #contest6 years ago

"My Entry in Writing Contest."

“Hey, Buddy!” – Meeting a Fellow Countryman in a Land I do not Call My Own

Meeting a fellow countryman in a land I do not call my own is a breath of fresh air to me; in my longing and homesickness, a quick time for therapy. Don’t get me wrong; I love this place. I love the culture, the people, and everything that’s in here that gives me a different but beautiful kind of experience every day. But, living here was never a choice. The thought of being an expat never crossed my mind either. This place, regardless of its beauty and grace, is not what I call home.

But, as duty calls, I must answer. I must accept that this place needs me more than my homeland does. Well, I guess the decision to be here was not so bad after all; I have helped many children in my school learn the English language. As a teacher, that means a lot to me – enough to keep me going.

Still, you can’t erase the fact that I miss home. But meeting and hanging out with a fellowman with the same homeland as mine is enough for me to experience the home I’m longing for. Good thing this is one of those days it happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70