DRAFT ITEM SHOP FOR IBT#5 - For IBT Community review.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

Well if this picture by @steemseph doesn't blow your mind, maybe thinking about IBT#5 will.

Just completing the final touches on the bot, but I'm still struggling to lock in the game play.... It's not easy..

This post is to focus on the Item shop and lock in how we handle the ITEM concept during IBT#5. I know we had it pretty much well worked out, but as I keep expanding the bot and thinking about how to grow moving forward,  I realize the item thing needs some extra thought. So here's the current proposal:

ITEM SHOP 

The item shop will be divided into three areas. And while I have attempted to avoid it, it has cost me a fair amount of Steem to setup accounts and learn bots etc. To recover some of these costs something needs to be done. Still it needs to be done in a way that the IBT community benefits (or whats the point, I'm not keeping to the key objective of sharing Steem) - So I will watch who contributes to the bot and manually configure it to Auto upvote any player who buys at least one item. Thus over time getting your value back from making a contribution, at the same time helping me to recover the setup costs...well at some point way in the future haha :). Of course this is not a pay to win competition, you can still win the whole thing without buying any items, you just luck it! certainly buying items will improve your odds slightly and should help to build excitement and charge game play.

Level 0 – The items here are just a display, like the lower shelf prize pool at a show/amusement park. These are no longer purchased with trophy-tokens, rather they may be summoned during game play by any player at any stage without visiting the shop by: 

  1. Transferring 0.01 Steem to @wizardzap 
  2. Typing the summon item spell command - !ibtluckydip 

Conditions: 

  • Level 0 Item is consumed on the Stage post it is invoked
  • This can only be invoked by a Level 0 player 
  • Can be invoked in any Stage, including boss round.

Special note: Anyone who purchases any item this way, I will setup to get auto votes from @wizardzap, giving back to the contributors (from a shared pool, so it one day might pay back via a few post upvotes more then you ever put in).

Level 1 – These items are open to all level 1 players, they may choose which ever one they want at the start of a Stage. Will be +2 to players hit type items. Only one item per player per Stage is available. No need to purchase the level 1 items with trophy's, its a reward for being a level 1 player.

Item maybe summoned by: 

  1. Transferring 0.02 Steem to @wizardzap
  2. A level1 player typing - I wish to use level 1 item <item name> from the shop 
  3. Player may show picture of item to assist other players 

Conditions: 

  • Level 1 Item is permanent for current IBT only, and each player may only have one. 
  • To be a level 1 player, you must have successfully won at least two Stages on the first attack. 
  • Can be invoked in any stage, including the boss round. 

Level2 – There is only 1 item, it’s is a spell book unlock. 

To cast the most devastating Attack spell known to IBT: 

  1. Transfer a trophy-token to lord-nigel 
  2. Type the Devastating attack spell command - !special2 

Conditions: 

  • Level 2 Item is a spell which is learned, it is permanent for this and any future IBT (that's right, it encourages you to come back.  Be warned though, if you do master this spell, it may kill you..I will probably make it between a 50/50 to a  1 in 3 chance of successful cast - will change it between tournaments but not let people know the odds).
  • To be a level 2 player, you must have successfully won at least Four Stages on the first attack in a single IBT tournament. 
  • Can be invoked in any stage (but only once - includes PVP/Optional Stage 5), including the boss round


  

Overall Game Play out.

Just as a reminder the current proposals is:

  • The map will stay the same Stages One through to Stage Four – Will be the same as IBT#4 
  • Stage Five – Will be an optional (probably a PVP battle this time), you still get 3 Life points and can either bypass or move straight to Stage Six. The player who has the most kills by post payout will get a set prize of Steem.
  • Boss Stage – You each get 2 shots at attacking the boss, the players 1st, 2nd and 3rd will get prizes as per IBT#4.
  • Boss Stage - All items are allowed, level 0 - 2, All attacks allowed, Gobbo items apply and pickpocket apply. Basically all goes in boss round.
  • Gobbo or pickpocketed items Stack with any level 0 - 2 items in play for the Stage they are acquired.

....And that's it, I open it up again for further discussion...does this sound ok? will people be OK with this. 

Note on item purchases: I am deliberately keeping the bot cost very low and even if you win One Stage you will win more Steem then it will cost you to contribute to the bot. I'm trying to keep as best I can to the objective to spread the Steem and share it, but I need to make something back some how and I believe a bot like this that can give back in votes might be a fair compromise.

This is not a done deal, it's just my current proposal after a few days of thinking....


Special thanks to @spaceginger   for his artistic skills with the Interactive Battle Tournament  Image above, also thanks to @steemseph for his dividers. @100% of Steem raised from this post will go towards future  IBT prizes.

Sort:  

Doesn't everyone go back to level 0 with each new tournament?

So if I understand this correctly, that means if the character I enroll gets to level 2 in IBT #5, then when IBT #6 comes around whoever I enroll will begin as level 0 with the devastating spell... is this right?

It is a radical thought - trying to find a way to connect the IBT's. In earlier IBT's I gave the champs trophy's which they could use to kick start..but that kindda drifted away.

I'm not sure if this is a good idea yet?, is just an idea..but yep, you would start again at level 0 (but would already have access to the enduring level 2 spell, you kind of learned it and it sticks - unlike an item which you return).

I think if this was to work and be awesome, the key would be to make the spell cool, but also risky enough, that it didn't give advantage in those early stages (a 1 in 3 or 50/50 risk). Generally the early Stages aren't so hard to get through so using the spell wouldn't be an advantage at all, the spell only really gives advantage at the boss stage or potentially at that optional stage 5.

...What do you think? am I way of course? or do you like the idea?

Cheers

I'm not sure that having carryover inventory would be a good idea. First, as more new people get drawn in to IBTs, there will inevitably be the complaints of "Why does so-and-so get to start with this and I don't?" along with the need to explain every time about how that level 2 spell was earned. I actually like the concept of having everyone start each new IBT with a clean slate.

Second, if a player reaches level 2 that means they have already banked at least 12 of the 15 possible hearts for the boss round (not counting stage 5 results). Many who don't could conceivably end up banking 10 or 11 hearts (and if lucky, 13) for the boss round, and here the devastating spell is [in my opinion, correctly] designed to provide that extra edge. The problem here is in future tournaments... if the level 2 player from today ends up unlucky in any future tournament and only banks a few hearts, do they deserve to still be in the mix every single time they don't do well? The idea that someone could have 5 or 6 hearts and roll a 15+ due to a carryover item from a previous IBT, beating out a newbie who banked 10+ hearts in their first go but didn't do so well in the boss round... that doesn't sit too well with me.

But, let's see what the other IBT regulars think.

Thanks mate - wise as usual, keen to see if anyone else has thoughts as well? on the idea :)

I agree with the point new people might get confused and yeah I don't want people to think game is rigged or something and lower trust...Still, at some point I'd like some way to connect the different IBT's and I can't seem to get any thing to stick that sits well.hmnn..

...I guess the bot @wizardzap itself culd be a bit of a connection and if people are ok with it voting their posts will act as a reminder and benefit to coming back

...I guess I could have a rule that says you must continue to enrol in IBT to keep the bot autovote, thus a motivator.

Would this act as encouragement for people to come back? I might need to delegate some additional SP to the bot, so it at least gives people a 1 cent upvote or any other possible thoughts how we can:

a) encourage people to come back
b) reward people who come back
c) some how have something carry across, so people feel like they earned something and it can be used in next, I guess trophy's kind of do this.

...I guess I could have a rule that says you must continue to enrol in IBT to keep the bot autovote, thus a motivator.

I like this.

c) some how have something carry across, so people feel like they earned something and it can be used in next, I guess trophy's kind of do this.

Correct.

As far as IBT universe continuity goes, there is already the unofficial IBT Book of Universal Records. In addition, to this point I have deliberately enrolled a different character into each IBT in an effort to try to enhance said continuity. I do wonder how many people have noticed that Soultaker (played in IBT 1) had a cameo in IBT 2, and that Chuck Norris (played in IBT 2) now effectively makes "referee" cameos in the form of roundhouse kicking the heads off of extra Gobbos that should never have been summoned but somehow showed up.

Setzer (IBT 3) is dead thanks to Chuck, so the only cameo he might make would be in the form of a 6-sided head. [Need to make heads roll? Now you can literally roll one!] Chick Norris (IBT 4) will make cameo appearances in the future, at the very least whenever Gobball needs to be played.

Eventually I'm going to run out of, or get tired of searching for characters with crazy and unexpected powers, at which point I'll probably just enroll one of the trollface memes as my permanent character. But until then, I still plan to use enrollments with the intention of adding on to the IBT universe continuity.

Hahahaa I love it! I did notice the cameo's.hehe and Chick Norris rocked in IBT#4 (I liked the way he knocked those bad Gobbo'S hehe).

..and of course the unofficial IBT book of Universal records hehe.

Cool ok, well maybe I'm trying a bit too hard... in the end if people have fun and enjoy they should come back anyways.

Pending any other comments we'll just go with the upvote bot thing. and getting trophy's out as gifts (that people can use across IBT's and spend on unlocking the level2 item - is a good carry across).

In the end can always change anything that doesn't work for the next IBT.

...Gosh only 3 days to go an no cryptonik?? yet..I noticed he has left the IBT#4 bot on and running on a 24x7 server...So if he doesn't come back I'll need to have use alternative commands, so it doesn't conflict and response twice. If I can finish the IBT#5 bot off, will see if @aussieninja can host on 24X7 remote server and worse case I'll leave my laptop as a server all day :)

At least if my IBT#5 bot fails we can always use the old IBT#4 commands - it just won't have the upgraded graphics or support the life/level up commands, but these are only minor.

OOppps level up command, that's the only thing I have left to do is a level up command...which people can type that catches our eye that they have leveled up and entitled to the next level items. anyways, I get it finished now.

Thank for the comment mate :), really brightened my day! made me feel good about IBT and reminded me fun timeZ, bit depressed with work at moment and lack of sleep...need a hols.

Do not overexert yourself on this. If you think there's going to be issues with certain folks not around, there's nothing wrong with postponing the enrollments until after you get back from your trip. Lack of sleep is not fun, take it from someone who has gone over half his life without a truly stable sleep schedule.

Thanks mate, should be right! IBT is fun...is a bit of work, but not real stressful like my job...

Ok, fingers crossed bot is finished now. So I'll leave it on for testing for a few hours if keen. I'll do some testing and if all good (excusing a few spelling mistakes), I'll ask aussie to host and done..anyways, it's on now

You use your inner energy to prepare for a killer blow:

!alistofcommands2

LIST OF COMMANDS:

!l11 - Show 1 life point
!l12 - Show 2 life points
!l13 - Show 3 life points
!openpockets2 - steal an item from the foe!
!onearrow2 - Shoot a single arrow (Archer Class)
!manyarrows2 - Do a difficult attack (Archer Class)
!mysticzap2 - Perform a fireball attack (Wizard Class)
!mysticblast2 - Perform a difficult magic attack (Wizard Class)
!warriorstab2" - Perform a stab attack (Warrior Class)
!warriorslash2 - Perform a difficult Sword Slash attack (Warrior Class)
!special2 - Level2 players only, with trophy purchase
!ibtluckydip - Perform item summon spell, may use only once per stage, if you transfer 0.01 Steem to @wizardzap
!alistofcommands2 - Show Manual of available commands.

You use your inner energy to prepare for a killer blow:

Haha sweet, thanks for testing bro

!alistofcommands

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34