You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bear and the Nightingale (Winternight Trilogy #1) by Katherine Arden

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Excellent review! You’ve certainly tempted me with this Russian fairy tale. The very old but young looking Frost king is very paranormal romance. :) As for the slapping offending modern readers, I just hope people young and old take this in their stride. I’d say these kinds of constrasts not only ensures we don’t end up just reading cookie cutter politically correct, but they serves as reminders for us. If anything, I appreciate writers who fearlessly create the world they wish and can sell me the tale with its warts and all. It’s been a while since I read YA, but I would definitely consider this one if I was in the YA mood.

Sort:  

Is this a YA novel? I didn't realize it was, or didn't think it was. Thank you for reading the review. :) And I agree with you on the slapping scene. Historical fiction can't be sanitized for modern sensitivities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31