Art Prompt Writing Contest- My 2nd attempt

in #contest7 years ago

Every two weeks, @Gmuxx runs a writing contest, using art or a photograph as a story prompt. The art is submitted during the previous week in an art contest. The winner of last week's art contest was @thatindianlady with this beautiful photograph of her cousin on her wedding day.

Right at this moment, she is waiting to step out among the crowd in her marriage ceremony.

Rules

Using this photograph as a prompt, write a piece of original fiction with between 500 and 1000 words.
Post a link to your story in the replies to this post.
Upvote this post.
A resteem would be nice, but not compulsory.
The contest will end September 23rd at 23:59 BST - check here for your local time-zone
The winner will receive 10 SBD plus the SBD payout from this post.

That's an Indian Hindu bride.

She calls out to him by the idea of what he could be. The idea that he might be worse than the worst heartbreak. The idea he might be the love song she dreams of and more. The idea he might be a scary combination of both. She calls him, hey, man on the moon.

Hey, man on the moon!

Up on the hill there. I've been praying for you.

Hey, man on the moon!

Up on the hill there. I've been praying for you.

Yes, I said it and I'll say it again. Can you hear me from way up there? I see the cabin you live in. I see the walls you built over the years. I've never seen such walls tightly wrapped around someone’s heart. It looks like an iron cage squeezing your heart.

How are you still alive?

Hey, man on the moon, do you see what I see?

Your emotional outburst is not what you say it is. It's that cage around your heart. It's not what you say nor what you speak. I wonder if you see what I see?

Hey, man on the moon, let me explain.

When I close my eyes and speak to my father in heaven, I pray for him and her. Then you come to mind. Thinking of you brings the feeling of anger. My heart set boundaries and set expectations you crossed. At your age I expected wisdom and discernment, not such level of folly. Such a lonely fool, up on that hill, up inside that cabin, up there with an iron-caged heart.

The depths of your loneliness are unfathomable. Only my father in heaven could reveal them to me. I wouldn't understand otherwise. A man abandoned by his wife. After that day, a man’s heart is never the same. A man’s heart has decided to never hurt like that again.

Hey, man on the moon!

Up on the hill there, did you know that we see you? We can all see you up there. We see you drinking again, like never before, like the pain will never end. Are you hoping it kills you?

Hey, man on the moon!

Up on the hill there. I've been praying for you. I didn't pray you would be healed. I didn't pray you would be changed. I didn't pray to know better. None of these were my prayer for you.

You see, man on the moon, I know that you know the truth. You know salvation, forgiveness etcetera, etcetera. You know, man on the moon, my father hears you cussing at the moon. We see your pain. He hears your pain. What is left of you is only to be gained.

Hey, man on the moon!

The end

Side Note - My Inspiration
I wrote this after my time in prayer. A friend came to mind and my heart poured out a version of this story. I changed it a bit to fit the prompt, but not enough to change my vision. To the first hurting, know that I hear you. I will continue praying for you.



Sort:  

This was beautiful. I liked the structure, always powerful to repeat a phrase or idea like you do here, it allows it time to marinate and sink roots down and grow. And I am sure we have all been there with someone, praying not for healing or for change but just praying for someone.

In addition to your beautiful words I am also glad I found this post because the contest itself sounds very interesting and the prompt this week is a truly wonderful photo.

Much love - Carl (Gnashster)

Wow, you are very good at commenting! Thank you very much for reading, appreciating, and commenting! I hope you enter the contest. It is a lot of fun.

Oh sweetheart this is just lovely <3 What a gorgeous photo of the bride... wow! That's some incredible photography and what a fun contest by our boy Muxxy! <3 I would love to get involved... maybe soon <3

You speak of heartbreak as though it's too familiar to you my dear... I wish you all the love in the world!

I'm so happy to see you writing too! I better not catch ya writing any crazy ish like me, I would have to come over there and protect you from it all =D

Aww, thanks for stopping by and reading my stories they are a tiny peak into my heart and mind. It's a jungle of imagination in this mind. I leave all the wild real life stories for the adventure seekers like you. However, you should come visit me, do i need to get into trouble to expedite this trip?!

Hahaha well my dear, I am happy you don't have these stories to tell ;)

Hmmm well, as you'll see in later, I might be landlocked here so traveling is going to be interesting. I am kind of wishing I were on a plane back home right now!

Omgsh, it must be really scary if YOU wish you were on a plane!

Haha well it depends who you talk to which doesn't make me fret less! Some locals are panicking saying we will have a blackout for months while others are just carrying on, no problem. Yikes! I do not want to lose internet access! :P

<3 Keep us update!!

Very interesting this competition! I am going to write something! xx

Oi Marcelli! Please let me know once you do. I cannot read your English and Portuguese version interpretation.

Amazing!! so emotional <3 <3

Thank you for reading and commenting <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44