You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 16 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 90.999 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

The prompt made me start crying. It is such a loaded word :(

"Rent insecure". I have just recently learned of that phrase. I am rent insecure, meaning if our landlords raised our rent I would be forced to depend on others for help. I was homeless when I was 18, but I chose it. I wanted to leave Maine and I just flitted around and 'lived' in 30$ a night motels where the burnt plastic smell of crack was everywhere. I was homeless but I knew I could home. I didn't want to, oldest of four kids, entire family ADHD and blue collar. I later learned that brains of kids from struggling families show the same brain patterns as PTSD, and I didn't think that was surprising. I guess it's a 'thing' now, that huge chunks of the population are 'rent insecure' and of course, that is just a feeder for the ever growing homeless population. I live in Ocean Beach, I see some kindnesses as a shop owner across from my house allows a very sweet man to sleep in the nook as long as he keeps it tidy, which he does. I hear people on our facebook exhibit bitterness about how much they have to pay to live here and that 'these people get ocean side property for free". Its too much for 5 minutes and its very painful to think about .

Sort:  

Like you, I spent some time homeless in my late teens. I mostly chose that path to get out of a bad situation, but definitely had it better than some. At least I had my car to sleep in and occasionally friends couches.

I didn't know about the brains and PTSD, but like you said, it makes sense. I also hadn't heard 'rent insecure' before either, but I know far too many people who are in that situation. This is really eye opening.

I guess I accidently manifested it thinking about- I just got a letter today saying that my rent went up 120$ :( (well 60 for my part, so not enough to be homeless but less money for food lol- fucking california)

I so can relate. That is how I have spent most of my life in the US. there were short-lived periods in between where things seemed more secure. Add aging to the mix and things could be depressing. I just keep believing that things will work out one way or the other...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40