You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #27: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SB prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

If You Must Lie, Be Brief

For some months now, I had been saving part of my salary to get a new phone. Last week, I got a new Iphone6 and on my way to church, friends saw me with it and started hailing me, believing I had gotten a job that paid handsomely.
Matters came to a head when my pastor said: "Brother Gbenga, it seems the Lord has blessed you. Don't forget to show your appreciation to him in a meaningful way."
Knowing what the pastor meant and having two 50 naira notes on me, one for offering and the other for transport, I quickly told him: "Pastor, God is yet to bless me. This phone with me costs less than 30,000 naira as I got it from someone who sells spoilt phones and had it repaired." To make sure he left me alone, I added, "I even need money urgently right now."
That was how the pastor told me to sell it to him for 50,000. In his mind he thinks he is helping me. Phone that I bought for more than 100,000 naira. Had I known I should have kept the lie brief.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26