Daddykirbs Cool Curators Contest Entry - @joannereid

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

My raised bed begins:

raisedbedg.png

There were some problems and most things didn't grow well there. Not even with the sides up and some good soil and cow manure. Then I found this video: Daddykirbs Garden 2013: Building & Filling Raised Beds which quickly became my favorite of his videos.

In the spring, I will be using some of what I learned from @daddykirbs to rebuild this one and add a couple more. I have a fantasy of one with tomatoes, tomatoes, and more tomatoes. And another one with herbs and shallots.

I know this is an older video that @daddykirbs did but it details something that I really wanted to know how to do and he is very organized in his presentation.

divide.png

@peggyhazelwood, @katebenzin, and @garyharvey -- what's the biggest hurdle to gardens where you live? For me, it's rabbits and weeds.

Sort:  

I'd say the biggest hurdle to gardening here is... me. I dont have a green thumb at all. Wish I did. Well, I sorta wish I did.
But we also contend with frost in winter and dry heat in summer, so that's a challenge too.

Gary

Oh, I love raised beds. So nice to keep critters out. My problem is I have javelinas roaming through my unfenced yard every night. They eat everything! I'd need a good strong fence to garden here on any scale, but my yard isn't really conducive to fencing so I have a few pots in the one small fenced area and call that good.

Javelinas? That's a new word for me. Must look it up. Happily Google also shows pictures.
Gary

Oh, like a small wild pig. Now I know.
Gary

Like Gary, I hate gardening. Luckily, for me my housekeeper and her hubby love it. There are two big hurdles here - caterpillars that love to eat the leaves of so many plants and the larva of the Japanese beetle. The larva lives underground and my dogs love digging them up and eating them. So unfortunately, my not so beautiful lawn is constantly getting holes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55