You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Contest to Debunk Them All

in #contest6 years ago

I know you explicitly said not to do this on the comments but I don't really feel like writing a whole post of debunk ideas and uninspired and half-hearted posts are a no-no. A little respect for the readers, right?

As for ideas, I'm totally getting them out of my granny's and other old folk's reccommendations over the years:

  1. Don't eat and bath/get into the pool/get into the sea etc or you can have an embolism. This one I actually more-or-less cleared a few years ago, but it would still be interesting to read about.
  2. Don't drink coffee (or other hot beverages) and then a cold one or you can basically die out of the temperature difference. The cold-first-hot-after order is allright, though.
  3. One glass of beer after exercise helps recover fluids and lost electrolites (okay, not an advice from my grandmother, but from my beer-loving sports buddies. We never stop at only one glass, though).
    4.Oysters and such are aphrodisiacs. It's a must in my country to see vendors on the beach shouting 'vuelve a la vida' ,' rompecolchón' (meaning 'come back to life' and 'matress breaker') while trying to sell you surprisingly non-fresh looking oysters and clams out of a mayonese jar, claiming they will revitalize your sex life. Never tried, but I can't help but wonder.

Those are the ones that come to my mind, I hope you find at least one of them interesting enough to write about.

Happy debunking!

Sort:  

Ah, remembered another from my grann's collection: Do not swallow the seeds of fruits such as passion fruit, guayaba, tomato, granada and such, since they could cause apendicitis. To my understanding this can happen if you have an already inflamed appendix, but otherwise it's probably a myth... right?

Why do I even make rules, if everybody ignores them anyway? ¯\ _ (ツ)_/¯

<3

Hey @isa93
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57