You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Happened To All The Excitement in Crypto?

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I think you're totally right, it was the wrong people that were attracted, which set the entire market off balance. And I can see how that would be a particular vulnerability with steem.

I'm so grateful that I never was told that I'd make a lot of money here, so I didn't start that way, though I was drawn by the idea of simply being paid for my content at all when I was having to pay Facebook for people just to see my content on there.

But the main draw for me has been having a community of people interested in reading the rather meaty ideas I write about. That's just so precious. That I've started making a little money (that I never withdraw) is just a sweet bonus. Though perhaps there will come a day when I can actually support myself with steem earnings.

That day will only come if enough people are attracted to the crypto market in general by the idea of what it can do for the world that they want to be a part of and benefit with. It won't come from people showing up with their begging bowls out.

Sort:  

appreciate the comments! yeah i think in 2 years or so this platform could potentially replace some major social media markets. i know myself i’m focusing my efforts here. it’s a bonus if i even get one penny from an upvote but what keeps me coming back is the potential of this place in a few years :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86