Celebrating my father - meet the man who made me a man!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

father.jpg
This is my Dad - Mr. Elias Agbaragu.

Dads are grossly under-appreciated. I know mums do a lot to make us who we are today, but while it is very easy to see songs, videos, poems, tv shows and a lot of tributes appreciating mums, you struggle to find a material praising our dads - this is injustice according to me.

So when i saw this contest nicely put together by @hurlamideh, I said this is greate idea. This is a nice opportunity to right the wrongs done on dads. Thanks once again @hurlamideh and am very sorry you lost your dad in auto accident some years back. And you had no opportunity to appreciate him while he was still alive.

They say "You'll never know the value of what you have until you loose it". While mums do so much and are always remembered, appreciate your dad now he is still alive. You can loose him tomorow! Write him a poem. Enter this contest. Here is the link: https://steemit.com/celebrating-fathers/@hurlamideh/poetry-contest-write-a-poem-about-your-dad-and-get-a-chance-to-win-3sbd-or-more

Please, i am not too good in writing poems, but for my dad who is still alive, i will do my best.

So here is a poem for my dad Mr. Elias Agbaragu:

Many nice things have happened to me
To place them before you, is hard to see
How can i forget this, i will always be sad
To have you for me is the best, my Dad

You gave me life, when i had none
And made me strong like the sun
When i cant even walk, stand or talk
You took my hand and made it work.

What can i say, but to say thank you
I grew, I flew, you showed me too
To live without you, is hard for me
I never knew, this is how it will be.

Many troubles big and small appear
You walked into them like they are not there
I lacked strength, wisdom, might
You made go on and put up a fight.

Men praise money, riches and fame
You taught me my dad to make a name
All the things you gave, made me a man
To be like you dad, is never insane.

I love, remember and pray for you
You made me a man and this is true
Thank you my dad, for all you do
The good Lord bless you, just plenty not few.

uncle.jpg

This is me. (Dad's only son of 7 children)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77