You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest7 years ago

"How would I know you are there?" I had asked grandpa.
"Anytime you miss me, just look up to the blue sky and know I am there with you always" was his reply.
That was five years ago on his death bed. Grandpa had been my rock and had take care of me for twenty years after the death of my parents in an accident. It had not been easy for either of us but we had grown to rely on each others' strengths and weaknesses.
And now, five years later, I still look up to the blue sky whenever I get scared and I would feel his presence all around me which usually made me feel better. Today was a good day, I was getting a well-deserved promotion after three years of hardwork. If only grandpa was here, I thought.
As I was about crossing the road, I heard someone scream, I turned and felt a sharp pain as a stray bullet hit my chest. I fell backwards and the last thought that crossed my mind before embracing the cold hands of death was... The color of the sky was not blue, it was a blood red sky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81