The Basil 🌿 - A unique smell and delicious ingredient ➺ Tpot Contest No. 11

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

A beautiful picture for a nice story:

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-15 at 7.39.12 AM.jpeg


The main reason why this basil was planted in our raised bed, it was pair with the tomato plant to help eachother grow efficiently.

Let me explain a bit, when you create your raised beds in your garden, you always have to think on which plants can help each other so they can grow with harmony.
In this case, tomatoes and basil go very well together, the strong smell of the basil repel the insects that eat and destroy tomato plants, besides boosting the flavor of the tomatoes.
At the same time, the tomatoes when they grow, provide the shade that the basil needs.

I learned this while reading about permaculture and garden designs.

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-15 at 7.39.12 AM (1).jpeg

Unfortunately, tomato plant did not last long, but the basil stayed strong.

Now we have a wild basil in our garden that provides us the leafs we need for our kitchen, and nice strong smell to our garden.

🚀 The Basil Airdrop: We ended up having so much that we have to give away to our friends.

I hope you liked my participation!

Thanks.


Usually, before I start writing on steemit, I always like to do some research. Since for this participation, I have to be “original and keep it raw and green” I decided to just post the pictures I took personally and write only what I have learned.

Pictures were taking in Bocas del Toro Panamá, in Colon Island caribbean side on the 12th of March of 2018.


Thanks to @tpot for running this contest and making this platform more fun!


firma_el_cr_def2.gif

Sort:  

Wonderful entry .. Thanks for joining our contest.. Loving your participation..

While we have a VERY different growing season up here in Canada, your post will help me out anyhow. We are building boxes to plant some tomatoes and other veggies. I didn't know the basil trick!

Also, if you jar your tomatoes, you can put basil in it for more taste in the tomato sauce.

Gracias!

NICE! it is very gratifying to know your posts help others somehow!
Thank you!

Nom, I love basil! There are so many different kinds....and it is sooo yummy in sauce together with tomatos too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71