Sort:  

Thanks for offering anyways. And yeah.. You were just in competition with one of the finalists, not sure that would be appropriate.. But I have been thinking about being less strict and allowing anyone to vote sort of thing sort of like you are suggesting? I am trying to look at it from your point of view, and have thought about similar before myself actually. We may do that in the future, though for right now we're still figuring things out and trying this route for now until someone explains a better way. It's a significant issue that we should probably vote on something like that in the future to decide what more people think. I think it'd be cool if there were more judges! So.. We'll see. Maybe we can change it and find a better way. :)

its basically apolys rules so whatever you say goes or the group youve chosen as stakeholders. ive seen your posts and it appears to be about 4-5 of you? what ive never understood are thsos that are stakeholders also participate in the competition. either way im only observing and didnt plush compete? i know ive said this before lol but its all good, i only offer to help and it doesnt hurt my feelings. that was a lot of judges involved and money disbursed. there must be a way to curtail all the spending unless thats the way its supposed to be. also for all that steem from donors and partly my contribution to to be spent solely on rewards can maybe be spent on helping the group grow like keep some in the bank? maybe curation trail or bot program? just thinking out loud here. also, wasnt there a third place reward? i think i got third place? maybe ... LOL!

Yeah, that's right plus a few "honorary" owners so to speak, who I consider family and like they are equal even if they want to remain anonymous or not get involved in that.

There is a lil weird area there in regards to a few of the players becoming owners. Yes. I don't really see that as a problem. I was hoping even some day I could play. But if I won I would donate the money to others. In fact that's what the rules are for the All Star game, anyone can play.. Even me.. But if I win I'll donate the prize money to someone else.

So.. Yeah.. We're working in that direction. Unless too many people oppose it.
I'd like to see a future where anyone can play even the judges and myself, I'm just trying to sort of.. Go into it slowly and try to find the best way to do it. I think there's a proper balance or recipe to make it work right and I'm not pretending I have the answer, but I do want to move more in the direction of allowing anyone to play or vote, though.. Then people say stuff and question whether there's collusion and such.. So I have to try to see if there's some kind of middle ground.. But I'm not sure there is. I don't have an easy answer for you.. We're learning as we go and I'd like it to be more open for anyone to vote or play including myself.

In regards to all the spending on the judges for this round, it was a special event. Just like the first season was. In all reality and I know no one wants to hear this but.. Next season the rewards will likely be smaller, and this first season I wanted to reach a wider audience. But.. The next season will also be shorter as well.. So.. I think it'll end up being very similar in actuality.

You do bring up a good point though and that's making this sustainable, I think all of us who appreciate this would like to see it last as long as possible and I'm sure that's what you're trying to say.. "Don't waste".. I understand. This was like I said.. A special event. It probably won't be like that in the future. UNLESS.. We get a lot more sponsorship.. There's a lot of steem floating around out there, if we got some good sponsors.. All of the rewards should be higher in my opinion. Including pay for the judges. It should all be higher.
So.. Thank you for your feedback and I will keep it in mind and try to be more frugal and patient and careful.

And yes.. There's a third place, we voted since technically in a sweet 16 there isn't really a 3rd place, but the community decided to give it to the two who didn't make it to the championship round as there wasn't technically a single 3rd place. So you will share the reward with wholeself-in.

PS. We'll be working on a curation trail next season that's one of the first things on the list, dunno about bots.. Maybe if there was a good one that was really helpful. And also just to let you know more details I planned on taking 1/5th of my account to fund the IFC at least. So.. There's at least like.. 700 steem left in the bank.
However.. It's a big prize and a lot of money goes into it all. So if I/we can't make it profitable in like 3-4 more seasons.. Then.. It's going to become really difficult to continue.

One thing that really umm.. Helps me feel a lot better about it though is that.. So many people have given me so much good and positive feedback that I think people would play even if there wasn't a cash reward.
If it gets to the point where we can't fund big prizes anymore or a healthy amount of judges. Or even any judges.. I'll still do it for free for fun, and I think others will play along for fun as well.

Quite a few have told me it helps them think of things to write about, and that they probably would have quit steemit already or wouldn't post very much if it wasn't for the contest.. So while I am very aware of the the risk of running out of funds and being careful.. I'm also aware that even if worst case scenario happened and it almost all dried up, that there'd still be a good core group of people who would play just for fun. :)

Hope that answers everything. Sorry it was such a long response. Lemme know if you have any more questions!

wow ty for all the detail and lets not forget the disclaimer that all this can change at any time ahhahahaha i see re third place, i thought that was established

You're welcome. And yes.. I try to stay open minded to the possibilities and if people come up with better ideas I think we should implement them and change and not be rigid, however! At this point, we have a micro political system going and for a lot of significant things, it's not up to me.. It's up to the group. So sometimes even if I think something would make this work better, the community might disagree. That's happened at least once already.

I'm not sure what you're saying at the end there in regards to third place being established.
I thought I explained it in my above response. Let me repeat and in more detail.
Originally when I set up the game there was a prize for 3rd place. A couple months or so into it we talked to Dave Mccoy to come up with ideas to make the game better and he suggested a sweet 16 style tournament.
But when you get down to the final four which you and wholeself in were/are, and then two are eliminated, who is third place?

I made a post asking this question. Should we give it to the person who had more points during the regular season? or the judges since they deserve more pay? Or how should we give out the third place prize if there wasn't a clear cut third place?

The community overwhelmingly responded and voted in favor of awarding the third place prize to both of the final four that got eliminated. Thus, the third place prize will be split between you and wholeself-in who were both eliminated in the final four round.

That's what the community decided and I remember one other time you mentioned not being aware that we had decided something, I think it was.. The "votes" for which rounds would be played in the finals?
I've posted all of these things on our discord in the important places and on steemit as well, so it's all back there on the blockchain if you want to go look.

so, back to my always first statement, this is and always has been up to YOU! i made some suggestions and apparently its not for you. no big deal at ALL. LOL and for some hilarious reason i missed that vote to split the third. the third as i saw i got 2 votes ansd WSI got 1 and again no problem!! :) i missed that blog since maybe was away for nearly 2 months. not really reading blogs much. anyhoo, its been real. be well, apoly

so, back to my always first statement, this is and always has been up to YOU!

As I just mentioned it's not always up to me. I try to get the community to vote on important things most of the time, occasionally I'll do something unilaterally because I am the one with the most invested in this and I came up with the idea, but.. Definitely trying to make it be less centralized.

the third as i saw i got 2 votes ansd WSI got 1 and again no problem!!

That would have been a possibility and one way to go about it, but what would you do in the case of a tie? Have another separate round to decide who gets third place prize? Bummer you missed the post, maybe if you mentioned it and more people saw it we would have done that instead. No one else suggested that, there was like one or two other votes to pay the judges with it, but the vast majority were to split it between the two who lost in the final four. I don't remember exactly when that vote was, so I'm not sure if it was when you were traveling or not?

And thanks eaglespirit. Same to you. :)

i was talking abput wvwn to making the rules for “the community to vote” LOL that is still you deciding that. anyhoo, i miss too many of these “group decisions”, if id known it was going to be like this i might have thought harder on my involvement in all this. either way its been a learning experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32