You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 20th Daily Steemit Upvote Lottery

in #contest6 years ago

Hey @svosse... I couldn't miss #20...

My weirdest scar... Ugh - there's so many, it's hard to say what the weirdest one is... I guess I would have to say my worst, and definitely my most memorable scar, is located on my right leg. I got it when I was in my twenties, basically by being a dumbass.

Picture me riding my motorcycle north on Interstate 75 (Alligator Alley) in south Florida. This is a perfectly straight 100 mile stretch of highway that is not only famous for the scenery through the Everglades, but also famous as the perfect road for hauling ass on your bike.

There's only one turn in the entire 100 mile stretch, and I was unfortunate enough (or dumb enough) to be going way too fast, and not paying attention (showing off) at that particular area. I realized what was about to happen way too late, and the only thing I could do was try to lean into the turn as much as possible before hitting the shoulder.

As soon as my tires hit the edge of the pavement, it was like my bike just disappeared from underneath me - I tumbled and rolled for what seemed like forever, before finally coming to a stop by sliding into the game barrier (fence).

I initially didn't think I was all that hurt so I tried to peel myself off the ground and attempted to stand up. At first, I had no pain at all, so I instinctively tried to roll over and get up. Right then, at that exact moment, as I tried to push myself up, I had agonizing pain shoot through my entire body.

I looked toward my feet and saw that my right foot was pointing in the wrong direction, and I literally watched as my leathers filled with blood - in the end I had two compound fractures on my right leg, my right shoulder was dislocated, and I had three broken ribs. I was told by the doctors - had I not been wearing riding leathers, I likely would have lost my leg just below the knee.

The scars are a reminder of my stupidity but looking back at it, I probably wouldn't change a thing if I could...

Sort:  

Geez, that sounds scary. I only had one lesson riding a motorbike and crashed into a parked truck. That was enough for me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42