You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTERACTIVE BATTLE TOURNAMENT#8 - DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS

in #contest6 years ago

Is @wizardzap now able to resolve !special attacks when players attempt to use them (i.e. always illegal on stages 1-3, and legal on stages 4, 5, and 7 only when the player passes the character level check)? Or are you planning different restrictions on !special for this tournament?

Sort:  

yeah - so many things to deal with, the easiest way to deal with it is the bot will not allow you to run !special until you reach level3...and the only way to reach level3 is to make it to stage 5 with no loses at all.
Once you leave stage 5, the !special attack isn't confusing...and last testing shows it works

the downside or a point i didnt think through is the bot keeps thinking you get 3 life points for stage 6 and stage 7 where we dont use them. So we need some thoughts on how to deal with that..Im thinking if you can still manually track add for this one, we might work something out..

As a side note unfortunately it also doesnt yet record if people won on a stage on their first shot (which means we still need you to track for us so i can keep up with work load etc - I reacon I'll have that function in by IBT9).

Biggest risks are:

  1. I have had no way to test under load, so the entire bot could fail yet...if i can't fix in a few hours, we may have to run with a very early version of code to complete tournanment...this is a worse case scenario and fingers crossed doesnt happen as V2 of the code has some extra fail safes.

  2. Once we hit Stage 5 the bot struggles to transition and deal with Stage 6 and 7..I've tried to do what is needed, but insufficient testing..well need to think on our feet a bit when we get there.

  3. My server is playing up a bit and it crashes...I think the disk is about to give in and I'm tight for dosh to replace at the moment.. if it dies mid tournament we in poop!

So yeah business as usual hehe.

Last time I tested it the bot did track flawless victories and level correctly, did it fail for other folks?

Stages 6 and 7, obviously I'll be manually tallying that up. Bot is effectively finished after stage 5. I'm still going to manually check through each of the first 5 stages for the obvious reasons. I know I shouldn't retire as field judge until we can be sure that you knocked out all the critical bugs with @wizardzap.

Thanks mate (as usual, stuffed without your help).

I'm little concerned as when there are 1000's of lines of code and 100's of variations it's very possible we will hit some bug not seen in test - and the whole thing then behaves weird...hehe but lets hope not.

oh just to let you know, there will be a delay between probably stage 2 and stage 3 (unfortunately I won't be able to post for 2 days. So today is the 17/08 here..The game will pause briefly (2 days) 20/08 and 21/08 resuming on the 22/8...I'll leave the bot running the whole time, but if something happens I won't be able to reset it until the 22/8 so fingers crossed... Sux but something has come up that makes this unavoidable..I'll post something around the 20/08 to let people know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48