You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eating fat won't make you fat....... But......

in #contest7 years ago

I didn't know about dual purpose meters. Do they measure both gluecose and ketones in the same test or would that mean more finger pricks? I'm already testing for glucose. Would be cool to see both results . Not sure if I would have any need to monitor my ketones though.

Sort:  

Do they measure both gluecose and ketones in the same test or would that mean more finger pricks?

Hi there @doctorcrypto, Thanks for the great comment, although the meter is dual purpose, it does require two different strips one for ketones and the other for glucose, so its not possible at the moment to check for both at the same time, but yes you're correct it would be great to see both results at the same time, but I believe this is more an issue with the different reagents than anything else.

would that mean more finger pricks?

When I use myself as a guinea pig, and check my levels I just make sure i keep the site open and just gently squeeze the area so it can give me a drop of blood for the next test. the good thing is both test only take 10s to finish so it isn't really that hard to do. however if you are stingy with your blood it may mean a second finger prick.

Not sure if I would have any need to monitor my ketones though.

As far as checking for ketones I personally feel that unless you were either a type 1 diabetic or needing to make sure you had high ketone levels for therapeutic purposes, there is not really any need to measure your ketones to be honest. If you have adopted a lifestyle where you were maintaining and track your food then it would be very feasible to assume you had adequate ketone levels to keep you in nutritional ketosis.

...unless you were either a type 1 diabetic....

I actually am type 1 diabetic. They run ketone tests when I see my doctor. Is it something that needs to be monitored as strictly as sugar?

Unless your blood sugars are way out of control, and you do not take your insulin shots properly the likelihood of developing diabetic ketoacidosis is slim.

Insulin is the natural antagonist for ketones and maintain them are normal safe levels its only if a type 1 were to have high Glucose and Ketones, as well as some dehydration that they would end up acidotic.

There are some great resources available on youtube which covers all the topics for type 1 diabetics from a US doctor who has been diabetic for nearly 70 years himself and in fact he was one of the pioneers as far as glucose monitoring is concerned.

Thanks for all the info! I've got the glucose levels pretty stable these days. I just wish my insulin wasn't so expensive. :)

You should check out Dr Bernstein, he gives some bery good recommendations on how to control your diabetes as a type 1, he uses diluted insulin and obviously doesnt use so much as part of his Low carb program, he also has a book you can read too!!

I will check him out. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57