I LOST 20 POINTS IN SCHOOL FOR LACK OF COURAGE

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Usually in life, we need some element of personally brewed courage to make any meaningful progress in life. Narrowing this down on students, one will definitely agree that this is true as they need a high level of courage to both to win bonus points from class tasks and even points from sitting to write aptitudes which will count toward their finally result.

As a graduate of Banking and Finance, since graduating from the university, I have never stopped to bite my fingers whenever I remember the wasted opportunity I wasted both to be the apple of the lecturer's eyes and the admired one for that day's class.

I graduated from a class of geniuses and students who will never take chances. From a class of students who will never loose the slightest bonus point because of lack of courage.

FULL ACCOUNT


Everyday, I wished I never developed cold feet moments before my stardom

Professor Nwankwo (The Head of Department) has given a take home assignment, an assignment he knew will prove really difficult for the smartest amongst us. Affixed to this take home assignment was a sumptuous 20 points benefit to the student who will attempt the finance questions correctly. Wow! I exclaimed....20 points from my desired 70 points is a reduced workload of 50 points I mentally calculated...

I wish it was possible to stop here, because am feeling pained already...

We all went home feeling optimistic about being the lucky student. Little did I know fate was waiting to glare angrily at me. Just as every other student, I went back to the hostel, ate, rested, showered, relaxed my mind and off I was gone to the class for the normal even reading/jacking (Oh How those days helped to sharpen my love for reading). Tackling the questions began; I moved swiftly from question one to the last having consulted with three texts on the subject matter, only having a little challenge with the second.

Finally, the deal day dawned...It was BAF 401 lecture and time was 9:10 AM. We all sat gay-full in our suits and ties waiting for the announcement to come over and attempt the last 5 questions (with explanations). Even though he got so engrossed with the business of the day, he soon remembered he gave a take home assignment. Gently but firmly, he requested for the attention of any student who had attempted the questions.

Oh! why did my courage and boldness fail me on this blessed day?

I have always known I was never the question-answering type in class, but it was not supposed to extend to this one.

Slowly I could see some signs of anger growing on his face because not even a student felt motivated to come forward. Personally I could count 5 other students whom I was pretty sure had either attempted all the questions correctly or had attempted more than half. What could be happening to me? I later found myself asking that question.

Maybe I didn't want to be the first to want to attempt it, in case I missed a step...hahahah..that later proved foolish

Before Iong, I saw a personality standing from amongst his friends.....wow! It was innocent....He was already at the board and had collected the red marker paint.

Even though he was able to attempt three out of five questions, he was awarded the promised 20 points for coming to make a trial. Well their was nothing I could do than cry in silence.

***

Have I ever allowed fear and lack of courage to rob me of my deserved goodies ever since again?....Hell NO

We sometimes go through life thinking that we are unfortunate. Nobody was born unfortunate, we all need to stand tall and fight for what belongs to us courageously.

dos_divider.png

GET UP, SUMMON SOME COURAGE, STEEM ON AND WIN IN LIFE


dos_divider.png

The image used here was the product of google search

Sort:  

Hi @dintellectual,
Thank you for sharing a painful life lesson ... gotta admit ... I've done the same too. Timely reminder

Thanks for stopping by to leaver a comment here.... I really appreciate

Yes bro, we need courage to excel in life.download (1).jpeg

You got a 0.95% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @dintellectual!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64