You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your favorite song/music - everyone wins SBI + SNAX tokens, and 10 STEEM to the 1st!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Well, I'm a big consumer of music and it's hard enough for me to pick a favorite song or one that has changed my life in some way. But I'll try.

Among the first options, thinking generically I could choose some great classic songs like "Stairway to Heaven" or "Bohemian Rhapsody", songs that I've heard hundreds of times (maybe thousands) and that I can keep listening to until eternity without ever getting bored. but as I said before this is in a generic way, those songs are my favorite but do not have a meaning so important as to say that has changed my life in some way.

So, looking among my most intimate musical tastes, the musical interpretations that generate the greatest feeling are those of my children playing their songs, among these songs I would choose the "Barcelonesa" song, was one of the first interpretations of my son with his mandolin and has a very important meaning for me.

You can hear my three little ones interpreting an instrumental cover of the song here:


But well, being objective, the musical facet of my boys just starts and represents the music in this stage of my life, but my life extends much further back. So if I have to choose a song that has changed my life, at least in the musical aspect, I have to choose that first song that for the first time made me interested in music and that theme is, Paint it Black by the Rolling Stones.

There are several reasons why I have chosen this theme, first of all, every time I listen to this song I immediately return to my childhood, I remember that, once a week, I would sit next to my dad to watch a war series called "Tour of Duty" known as "Peloton del Deber" in Venezuela, and it was one of the very few things I shared with my father. (Fortunately, in the 80/90s we children could watch violence on TV without it disturbing us or causing us traumas).

At the age I had, I didn't understand English, I didn't know what the song said, nor who sang it, nor the name of the song. But the guitar in the theme gave me its own message: to move forward in spite of the difficulties, or, placing it in the context of the mentioned series, to move forward in spite of being bombed, ambushed, being on the verge of death, etc. At least that was what I felt for then.

That would be the theme that would define my musical taste for much of my life, maybe if I had not known, I would never have been interested in music, or maybe, listen to today's Caribbean music that is listened to more in my country, but I've never liked, who knows?

Here's the intro to the TV series "Tour of Duty", with the theme Paint it Black by the Rolling Stones, enjoy:

Sort:  

Very touching story. I have no clue what it would be like to live that way, especially as a child, and I hope that I never have too.

I thought about going into the army once upon a time. I'm so glad I was talked out of it and/or never really serious about going that route after the movies I'd seen while growing up.

  • (Fortunately, in the 80/90s we children could watch violence on TV without it disturbing us or causing us traumas).

LOL - The news channels in the U.S. stopped running footage of the wars the U.S. was in after they learned that the public couldn't handle actual people dying and started to speak out against the war. However, as long as it is "entertainment," that is okay because it's just a movie and then there isn't nothing to see over heRe and/or thEre.

Thank you for sharing this heartfelt comment with us. I'm dying to listen to your beautiful children playing Barcelonesa, but for some reason the DTube video continues to load and never starts.

It strikes me a lot that music has helped you develop a pacifist conscience, because for me it was like that.

I didn't know the Tour of Duty series, but I documented myself and discovered that here in Italy it had been translated very eloquently with the title "Vietnam Addio" (goodbye Vietnam).

  • Marco

sometimes DTube can be quite frustrating. I just uploaded the same video to YouTube if you still want to see it.

Thank you! Now I can see and listen to it! They are adorable, you have a whole band here!

Oh yeah, they're the greatest blessing of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80