THE GREENEST THUMB CHALLENGE #3 - Winner announcement and SBD to win this week!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Three Steem-gardeners participated last week to THE GREENEST THUMB CHALLENGE #2 that ended yesterday.
See what they submitted!

Desperate potatoes from Aldi's in Wisconsin

@melinda010100 was one day about to cook some potatoes when she found out that they had sent out big sprouts. Those potatoes bought at the supermarket had a desperate desire to grow! Eventually she was able to plant them and harvest some potatoes. Most of all, to fulfill the dream of all those sprouts: grow and give fruit.

Enchanted pothos from Colorado

@phoenixwren joined with the pictures of Ayla, a Pothos that climbs all around her bedroom.
The plant shows not just a remarkable growth, but is also home of two resident fairies!
Not everyone lives in the countryside, and @phoenixwren shows us how you can be surrounded by green leaves even in the middle of the city.

Guerrilla squash from Canada

@venomnymous secretly planted squash seeds at his work, in a rock bed between the business and the street. The plant thrived and gave fruit! That's real Guerrilla Gardening! How great it would be if you could find veggies all along the streets: there could be Squash street, Tomato street...



In witness of your love for gardening, it is now my pleasure to proclaim...



...that the winner is...



All the three submissions are great and it is difficult to proclaim a winner. All three participants showed great love and care for plants, a tremendous amount of genius and all the skills needed to grow healthy plants and/or harvest food from them.

Next week there will be a second and third prize too. This week I have to select a first prize, and this is...



@venomnymous!



@venomnymous get the FIRST PRIZE again this week for showing an additional feature, beside skills, care and genius: the pioneer courage to grow plants where no one else had think before. In fact, he transformed what was a rock bed, in a fertile ground for a plant. A "desert" became a source of food - and this happened just along the street. What a great advertisement for gardening!

@venomnymous get 5 SBD and I also sent 2 SBD to @melinda010100 and @phoenixwren as a bonus for participating - I hope you will all join next week again!



...TIME FOR WEEK 3!



According to the Cambridge Dictionary, a green thumb is:

the ability to make plants grow and be healthy

I can't wait to read new amazing stories of plants growing and see new GREENEST THUMB pictures. So, here are the rules for week 3 (as I'm learning how to host this contest, I try to improve the experience every week)!



Rules



  • Post one or more pictures showing your ability to make plants grow and be healthy, between now and the post payout time (in 7 days)
  • You can either post your picture in the comments below or write a post about it. If you write a post, tag it #greenestthumb so I can find it.
  • I'll select a first-prize winner who will get 50% of the SBD generated by this post, the second and third runners-up will get 25% each.
  • Upvote and resteem this post (most of the former participants already did last week and I thank you for that). This will help the challenge growing bigger and self-sustainable. Furthermore, it will make the prizes bigger!
  • By entering the contest, you give me permission to use your pictures in the next post where I'll be announcing the winners.

intermezzoScurito.png

Happy gardening and see you next week for the winners of THE GREENEST THUMB CHALLENGE #3!

Sort:  

Congrats to @venomnymous! Guerrilla gardening is awesome, I love that you did that! You totally deserve the win!
And thank you so much to @cryptofarmer for the generous runner up prize! You are so cool to make this contest! :)

It's a great fun and pleasure for me to read all of your gardening adventures - thanks for participating!

This is a good contest to encourage people to show off their skills. Way to go! 🐓🐓

For me it's great fun and an opportunity to meet very interesting people!

@cryptofarmer I thought I was out of submissions for this fun #greenestthumb contest.

But then I remembered my experiment planting lasts years purple potatoes, that I had left to grow eyes all winter long.

They had 2 foot long eyes that I planted horizontally along 4 inch trenches leaving just the tips of the eyes exposed to sunlight. They took their sweet time to grow leaves but when they did they exploded into lush green foliage.

Stored in the basement shower we never use
IMG_9440.JPG

Sign of life

IMG_0518.PNG

They were slow to start but quickly made up for the lost time.
IMG_0517.PNG

This is what was left after already harvesting a row previously for meals.

All in all it was a successful experiment.
IMG_0516.JPG

Best of luck to
All who entered the competition.

Awesome! Thanks again! @cryptofarmer. And thank you for putting on this contest. It's a great opportunity to not only inspire but to be inspired by those who share the same passion for gardening as I do.

You're very welcome! Reading all of your stories is a great inspiration for me too!
Thanks for sharing your adventure!

How very generous of you! Thanks so much!

Here is my entry for the challenge. Not sure if I got the tag right.

https://steemit.com/thegreenestthumb/@mariannewest/snake-gourd

Thank you for joining! In fact, the tag is just "greenestthumb" (without the article). You can still edit it, if you want. By the way, as long as I find you, it's ok :-)

I edited it :) And thank you for creating the contest :)

Great, thank you! :)

Ooo neat plant! I wanna grow it lol

where do you live? I have some seeds.....

Alberta, Canada

I looked it up and it is legal to send small quantities of seeds to Canada. Now, I don't know how viable the seeds I have left are. I can soak a couple and see if they will sprout. If they do, I am happy to send you some. You can contact me via email [email protected]

Great! I'll email you in a little bit.

Thanks!

This time I plan on participating! Hey @cryptofarmer, can I link this article in the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter to get the word out?? Let me know as soon as you can! Thanks!

Of course you can! I THANK YOU for that and I look forward reading your entry!!!

This is such a cool contest to increase interaction and community building! Thanks for keeping it going!

Thank you! Have you any green thumb experience you would like to share? Have you started your homestead already?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66