My dirty hand work earning me clean money!

in #contest7 years ago

Hello steemian,i'm entering this creativity challenge with a story of my one and only hand work as a plumber.

it gets started when I was in high school
have been interested in plumbing since I was quite small, and as soon I could do something that bigger people do I got into this plumbing work.
A lot of people might might accuse me that why“Plumbing? Who cares” but I wasn’t like otherlads. I would run home from school we couldn't afford a taxi, and be up to my elbows in sewage related problems whenever I could.
Fortunately with two relatives living at home there was always something for me to do in the area blocked.
Whichever dad I happened to have at the time - can’t remember names, not important - would normally let me use the toools box. I would practice learning all the names of the equipment – monkey wrench, hammer, pliers – until I was able to recognise them blindfold.
One day mother took the blindfold off and I could see the tools for myself. It was a revelation. They were old and rusty, and even when new were probably a bit cheap. That was when I resolved to make something of myself one day and become a plumber. Then I would be able to afford proper tools.
Unfortunately a war probably came along, and I expect I was horribly disfigured. That is the best start when you need to build to some kind of triumphant plumber. I spent many months in a state clinix until the nurses discharged me
I say ‘decided’ – they actually took a vote, and it was nearly 100% in favour. It was 100%.
In the days that followed my expulsion I checked out local jobs. Electrician, bank clerk, toothpaste sales representative – all brilliant of course, but they didn’t call to me. Then on the Friday in the Gazette, was the advert I had been looking for so long .​

“Trainee Plumber Wanted”

It was weeks before I got a reply. They were interested and could I attend an interview?

Could I? You bet your jolly Jehovah’s I could. I hot tailed it (ed: can we stop it with the faux Americana?) down to the joint and prayed I would give a good interview.

To cut a long story short… actually let’s string it out a bit first if you don’t mind… the interview went OK. But it didn’t have that killer moment where you look into their eyes and you see their soul offering you the job. So I did my party trick.

“Can I get my tools out?” I asked, and they agreed cautiously. I put my blindfold on.

I felt for the box catch, sprung it open and started feeling around. “Spanner” I said.
“One inch washer” I said. I’m sure I heard a gasp of surprise at this point.
“Self tapping tappety thing” I said, and there was a ripple of applause and a murmur of “go on my son” and “back of the net”.
At this point I would have been able to see they were impressed had I not been wearing a blindfold. I took it off.
“You got the job son” they said.

A Career in Plumbing

So I started as a trainee and trained. I learned all about plumbing and plumbing situations.
I bought the special trousers that don’t quite cover your ass when you put your head under the sink.

I learned how to do that intake of breath, look sad and say six hundred dollars as though I hadn’t just plucked the figure out of thin air.
When I started earning enough money to have a bit spare I started saving. There was something I’d always wanted during my school years, my army years, my hospital months and my trainee plumber days.
It was the full on set of Drano equipment.

Note: i now earn some cash from the dirty work to earn my living,my determination really pays me.

thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @crucifix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69