Happy 3rd Birthday Steemit! // Contest - Share A Fun Steem MemorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8734.JPG

Hi Friends!

Did you know that today is Steemit's third birthday? It's crazy to think how much has changed over that time and all the highs and lows this place has seen through the different bull and bear markets. I've been here since August 2017 - so I'll be coming up on my two year this summer!

Wish I had found this place sooner than that - but so grateful to have joined when I did! So funny that I've only been here for about half of Steem's existence and yet I have countless good memories and have literally been all over the world with the people I've met here.

There seems to be a certain brotherhood (or sisterhood) between us all. Especially those of us that are here now in the bear market. So let's have a fun contest and share some of our favorite Steem memories!

Ps... don't mind the cheesy ass photo for this post. 🤦‍♀️


Contest - Leave a Comment Sharing A Steem Memory!


The rules are simple... all you have to do to be entered is to leave a comment below sharing one of your favorite steem memories! It could be about a time you metup with some steemians in person, or a time that you made a post you were really proud of, or maybe a time that another Steemian really impacted you.

There are no other entry requirements. If you want to find out about more contests on the steem blockchain that don't require an upvote, follow, or re-steem - be sure to check out @contestkings!


The Prize - 3 SBD



Since it is Steem's 3rd birthday and since this is just a fun, impromptu contest I thought 3 SBD seemed only fitting!

When the post pays out in 7 days I'll do a random drawing of everyone who entered and send that person the mulah!


My Unofficial Entry


Between attending a Steem Creators conference in both Las Vegas and Toronto... and then going to Steemfest in Poland ... I had such a hard time picking a fun memory!

Speaking of the Steem Creators Conferences (Now the Global Block Builders)... I got a comment on a post of mine over a year ago from this random person named @steemcafe who I think was only like 35 rep at the time saying he was going to host a Steem Conference in Las Vegas and if I was interested in speaking at it.

I had no idea what to think, and so I asked if he could get on a call with me. After chatting for a solid hour on the phone I realized this guy was going to do some pretty cool stuff and I wanted to get involved. So I just said f*ck it and that I was in. I even talked my sister @maryjaney into joining me, even though at the time she had just barely joined the platform. In fact, we launched the @steemsistershow only 1 week before going!

That one decision to say "who knows what will come of this...but I'm just gonna buy a ticket to Vegas" has resulting in so many great friendships and opportunities since. I feel like I'm part of the family with everyone who has been to their events and that's a pretty special feeling.

Who knew that some of the people I met at that first conference in Vegas are now people I've been all over the world with over the last year.

Can't wait to meet up with you all again in Austin here in a few weeks. To everyone who's coming to Austin - I seriously can't wait. It's going to be such an incredible time!


Let's Share Some Fun Stories



Can't wait to hear some of your own Steem memories below.

XO,Lea

Sort:  

Being here has been a wonderful experience... Really when I joined was to generate some money living in Venezuela is not easy and having some extra money does not go wrong... But I never imagined that it would change my life so many aspects! I think I'm just in the right moment... Thanks to Steemit, I managed to study the career that I love most, I was able to pay for the registration of the classes and I was able to buy all the materials and create delicious desserts and the most wonderful thing about all this is that I have friends wonderful around the world ...

IMG-20180526-WA0027.jpg

What a lovely story! I send you my best wishes on your journey at steemit as well as on your career dear @denissemata..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much friend. Being part of steemit changed my life completely💕

Having been here for a little over a year now, I have a handful of really positive experiences. Now none of these entail any travel (yet - I really need to onboard the wife so she could see the benefits of getting us to a Steemfest in the future), but they do involve some pretty cool people.

The one that I will single out, however, was an unexpect gift that I received in the mail. A while back, I heard that @johndoer123's young bloke was going through a bit of a rough patch, so I thought I could cheer him up by sending him a little something from my stash of Lego that I sell online. I thought nothing more of it afterward, until an unexpected parcel arrived in the mail from the young man himself.

Inside the box was one of the coolest gifts I have ever received. A piece of a casting of an abandoned anthill, beautifully mounted on a piece of pine along with some shells that came directly from the Mississippi River. It now sits proudly in my loungeroom where I can admire it daily and is an interesting conversation piece when friends visit too. Thanks again @evans-adventures.

Dangit brother, you made me cry. Ball my eyes out really. To know that thank you gift from my son means so much that you would tell the story as a highlight of your Steemit journey touches my heart. Youre one of the greats here, and simply put...you're one of the "good guys" as Evan calls all his heros.
You really got me good with this onee. It took me forever to write my comment cause i couldnt see straight. Wesend our love dear brother.

74B184B9-A751-4173-83F3-EF5DD27CB4A9.gif

Whaaaa? No bread rolls @mattclarke?? How could you. 😂

Hahahah!!! This is amazing!!

image.png

Hi White List Author!

Thanks for being part of our contest community.

Here is a 100% upvote from @contestkings

Official Discord Server: https://discordapp.com/invite/SMSNk7w

blue.gif

Thanks guys!! 😘

Im fast approaching my second year on steemit, will be in September and I've loved my time here, Ive met so many cool people and hopefully, I'll get to attend a steemfest one day

My best steem memory was me wanting to give up ont he platform because I wasn't earning anything or getting any engagement and @littlescribe found me gave me the pep talk I needed and I've been at it ever since and trying to pass it on to others :)

I have yet the privilege to get to a meetup or event but my story was watching the Steem Fest 3 livestreams as it was exciting to see the energy while also following the community that was there providing perspectives. It was the time I realized that I was here for the long term!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had a chess match against everyone a couple of years ago.

@armen, @brendio and @blocktrades stepped up and beat me senseless.
Good times :)

Woooah this is awesome!!! Haha looks like you are still having a good time even if they beat you out. 😉

This one is easy for me. I join up the steem monsters discord. Ask if this is a real project worth looking into and outcomes @coruscate and @carrieallen to introduce me to the game. They tell truths nothing but truths and I end up backing the Kickstarter and the Fundition. That leads me to @contestkings and all that now to being a Maverick in the game and having a lot of fun trying to write lore for the game. I can't wait to see where the game goes but also where steem goes. Thanks for a fun little contest.

And don't forget the Steem Monster Show - you need to bring that back @coruscate, my Thursdays at work are soooooo boring now.

Awww @sparkesy43 that totally made my day that you said that! I miss getting to hang out with all you guys on Thursday’s too.

Time to resurrect it? Or another live show in its place?

@coruscate, Steem journey is journey of Awakening for me and my life turned upside down and I've converted from sports person to more spiritual person and before joining Steem Ecosystem never wrote a poetry but after joining Steem Ecosystem I've gone through from the Awakening moment and from that point of time I've awakeningly started the poetry journey and this phase is game changing in my life and Steem is vital part of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

My best memory is in fact the whole steemit journey so far :) Every day new bonding with a lot of great people. But the best memory is about my posting serie "Music is magic, music is emotion" I have written about a lot of bands, muisicians and memories in music. My core love...(besides my family of course). Trough these posts I have met a lot of great music loving steemians which I cherish a lot...,. Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65170.83
ETH 2568.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66