You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eating fat won't make you fat....... But......

in #contest6 years ago

I definitely learned some stuff here, namely the difference between therapeutic and nutritional Ketosis, as well as the reason some don’t lose weight.

I’ve used a Keto diet a couple of times in the past. The first time with good success, the second time not so much. The second time I was utilizing bulletproof coffee and fat bombs. 70/25/5. So, are you saying that my downfall could have been the macro % of fat being too high? Or, the overall quantity of fat?

I switched to IF after and had good success until I lost my focus after a year. Looking to re-focus but can’t decide on a course of action.

Side note: I was dx with glomerulonephritis (spilling protein in urine but didn’t know why) as a teen, and told then to limit my protein intake which I didn’t do. Symptoms (pitting edema, fatigue, headaches) came and went over the years, usually in times of physical stress. I’ve been symptom-free for years, but that one comment of “limit protein” rolls around in my head when I do Keto.

I’d love your thoughts?

Sort:  

@coachjj thanks for the great comment!

So, are you saying that my downfall could have been the macro % of fat being too high? Or, the overall quantity of fat?

For sure, if you are taking in far too much fat the body will utilize that over any body fat that you are trying to get rid off. Typically when I set a persons macros I set them based on their height or LBM, and I make sure for fat loos their protein is actually about 10g less than their protein macro. I think you are the proof to yourself when you didn't have the additional fat bombs and coffee you lost weight but when you ate them you had difficulty losing the weight. As far as the % fat or quantity its one and the same 70% Fat is far too much for someone in Nutritional ketosis to have, people need to ensure adequate protein intake to protect their lean body mass otherwise how can you repair your muscle and internal organs.

I switched to IF after and had good success until I lost my focus after a year. Looking to re-focus but can’t decide on a course of action.

I am happy to help you out!!

As far as the glomerulonephritis is concerned I know many patients I have coached with CKD stages 2 and 3 and even 4 manage with no problems, obviously we don't want to overdo it initially so slowly increasing the protein at safe levels not to overdo it. These are mainly due to inflammation in the body which has been left unchecked, and when you think about diabetes it really is a systemic inflammatory condition of the cardiovascular system, due to insulin resistance.

one of the things with patients and end stage renal disease or chronic kidney disease is caused due to the fact they reduce levels of protein that they feel to maintain adequate lean body mass and it actually is detrimental for the person. the current guidelines recommend maintaining adequate levels of protein.

hope this helps feel free to ask anymore or I can catch you on discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33