You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What cats know about litter boxes. We have the scoop. Punday Monday 93

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

The is my Pun :
Gopher doesn't know his ear is red !

" Pun : scold others don't know themselves! They only see the shortcomings of others, but they can't see their own."

Sort:  

Do you think a pun is the same as a story moral? Or is there a pun in that that I'm missing?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think "pun" is a phrase, but she has multiple of meanings, which is literally understood, she is a kind of meaning, but in fact, people who say it may have other meanings.

For example, the sentence I said : Gopher doesn't know his ear is red !

When I say this to someone, it’s ostensibly, I am say :
Gopher doesn't know his ear is red !
But in fact, I am say : she will only say the mistakes of others, and she will not say her own mistakes. She will not see her own shortcomings, just as she can't see his color of her ears.


Image referenced from "zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pocket-Gopher_Ano-Nuevo-SP.jpg"

Chinese people like to use stories to create pun .

I love this translation error. It gets right to the heart of language.
Idiom, metaphor, and allegory fascinate me, but they aren't puns. A pun is where you take a word that literally has two meanings and you create humor by implying the unexpected meaning in context. Sometimes we deform the word or use rhyming words or parts of words to get at the meaning we intend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your explanation of puns

Even though it isn't a pun, we're grateful that you introduced us to a Chinese proverb!
Question: is "Gopher" what you call that creature in the picture in China? In the U.S., his name is "Piglet"!

I don't know if you have seen a cartoon of Russia?
There are two Cartoon character in it.
The American Disney Company translated them into Piglet and Gopher.
Piglet is a pig with a red body. Her ears are red.
like as the picture.

but Piglet , her ears are very large, so I think she might see her ears, so my title doesn't use her name.
But above, I still quoted her stamp picture because this group of Winnie the Pooh stamps, there are Piglets, but no Gopher.
Gopher in the cartoon of Russia,
she is a name of hamster,
she is a hamster, the American Disney Company call she is Gopher, so I also call hamster is Gopher .
like as the picture.
Image quoted from: www.pinterest.com"

Image referenced from "zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pocket-Gopher_Ano-Nuevo-SP.jpg"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47