Delicate Corals

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit Friends!

I have spent more than four hours to make a drawing of corals. This is my entry for the contest organized by @topkpop. The theme for this art contest is DELICATE. I chose to draw the sea corals because I want to educate and re-educate the people about corals and how delicate they are.


Logopit_1518151164691.jpg

I have always been fascinated by the ocean and the sea. I even believe that I was a merman in my previous life. And though I am a Christian, I think it is cool to note that my zodiac sign is Pisces. In other words, I belong to the sea.

0cf47d5964d119601bcdd0bb307f065f.jpg
Image Source

Snorkeling

I have experienced snorkeling before in Olanggo Island and in Pescador Island in Cebu. I am really amazed of the experience. It gives a special feeling, I call it priviledge, to see the sea creatures under the sea water. It will surely remind everyone that earth is not only about the human race, and that there is life beyond our existence.

I have seen different variety of fishes, I even claimed I saw the original Nemo in that experience. But, those snorkling experiences did not only show the variation of the fishes. It also presented the beautifully and naturally crafted colorful corals that made the experience more fun.

Delicate Corals

According to the Miriam Dictionary, corals are materials formed on the bottom of the sea by the skeletons of small creatures. Some look like beautiful ornamental flowers, some look like brain, some look like spikes and many other forms and shapes.
4e14042132ef5b848f57e322c5c993a5.jpg
Image Source
According to Alasdair Williams, coral reefs are vital part of marine ecosystems, but they cam be damaged by everything from storms and careless divers to massive natural disasters.

They serve as marine habitats of the sea creatures and the damage of these corals would mean a damage of the marine ecosystem.

In Philippine movies and tv, mermaids and mermen portray as heroes of the aquatic world. They appear to humans to bring disaster to punish the humans for destroying the seas. This is very unreal, but it actually sends a message that we have to be responsible care takers of the ocean.
88d9979dee0b76ea9363893f3b13cf07.jpg
Image Source
We are glad that there are people today who are advocates of the life under water. We hope to give our concern and participation by doing our simple ways that will preserve the life of these corals and the other life under the sea.

Drawing Process

Sketching (Drawing Pencil) IMG_20180208_200044.jpg


Base Coating (Colored Pens) IMG_20180208_200827.jpg


Second Coating (Colored Pencils) IMG_20180208_201740.jpg


Base Coating: Second Coral IMG_20180208_202912.jpg


Second Coating : Second Coral IMG_20180208_204704.jpg


Base Coating: Third Coral IMG_20180208_210127.jpg


Have Some Rest IMG_20180208_215224.jpg


Magic, It's doneIMG_20180209_104012.jpg


XOXO,

@christianyocte

Thank you so much for reading and journeying with me. I hope we will continue to support each other grow in steemit. Please drop down your comments below, and do not hesitate to share your thoughts as well.

About the Artist

CHRISTIAN YOCTE is a teacher and a self-taught artist. He has not gone to any formal art training but schooled himself through watching tutorial videos, joining art jams, and participating in art contests. He enjoys doing pointilism, using colored and graphite pencils. He believes that art is not only a good past time but it also relaxes the soul, teaches patience, and entertains other people. If the latter is not achieved, it is nothing. He is also very interested with photography, poetry and writring.

received_2034306273254073.gif
received_2030244520326915.gif

Sort:  

You got SNEKKED!
Because I love your post!

You got snekked is my curation project!
I aim to find good content, share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got my upvote and I will share a link to your post in my Friday post!

You can find me on Discord or steemit.chat if you like to connect!
You can also join the you got Snekked project on discord! Here is the link to join us: https://discord.gg/nMEwmTx

Best wishes
Snekky

Oww. Thank you very much. Im very happy for this.

I love this drawing! So bright and vibrant. Also, yes it is so important to remember how delicate coral is, and to take good care of the oceans and the earth.

Thank you very much for your compliment. 😄😄😄

this is very nice @christianyocte. :) you have talented hands. I wish i could draw like you do. keep it up!

Thank you, @honeyletsgo for your support :)

My favorite pic for this contest, love the vibrant colors I thought it was a digital drawing at first, the colors are so vivid but I checked out your post and it was another awsome colored pencil drawing. And all what you said was just wonderful. God meant for all humans to take care of our beautiful habitat or we will loose our ecosystem and ourselves in the process. There is so much beauty to behold on this planet, we’re very blessed. I’m very passionate about this thank you for caring @christianyocte keep spreading the love brother. By the way I’m married to a Pisces, good men!

Thank you for these sweet messages. The secret of the vibrant colors is by putting a based color of pens. I thank you for checking it out and going through the process...

Yes, God's creation should be protected by us. We are the care takers... I am not a full-pledged environmentalist, but I care for this earth... I love mother nature.

Good that you are married to a pisces... Hehheh what is your sign? So that I can also start looking for my match... Hehheh

What!! I can’t believe your single! What the heck! No sweetheart for Valentine’s Day! Aw your so beautiful, one of these days you’ll find your true love. Here is my valentine for you amazing man ♥️ ♥️ Sorry that’s the best I can do! My sign is Taurus. I’ve read that Taurus and Pisces make a perfect match. My husband and I fell deeply in love at 16, we are both 58 years old . We’ve been married for almost 40 years. And very happily, we’re best buds. I’ll pray for you dear @christianyocte.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89