You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eating fat won't make you fat....... But......

in #contest7 years ago

This is really good @robmenzies. I read up about the Bulletproof Diet not too long ago and I have to say, the one thing I always did, I would always have a black coffee in the morning with some unsalted butter in it. I have no idea if it worked, I just did it.

Whenever I'm trying to get fitter or gain some weight, I always forget the numbers (until it's time to consider macronutrients properly). I think following numbers and what to eat what not to eat, always trips you up in the beginning. Sometimes it's better to just avoid sugar, salt, and flour and follow a MED workout routine.

I love Tim Ferriss' book, The 4 Hour Body. The book debunks a load of fitness BS and helps anyone to achieve results. In the world of fitness there is a saying that is hushed in the boardrooms and the gym offices... complicate to profit, simplify to grow.

I know what part of the saying the bosses prefer. Great read buddy, looking forward to more like this. Very interesting topic.

PS. those fish on the barbie look devine....

Sort:  

I need to study this post and the comments when I get a free moment, but also really like Ferris. I’ve read all of his books and each one has been game changing.

Thanks @calumam for the great comments. I think everyone has to employ a strategy that works for them. Ordinarily and especially my patients they have a severe lack of control and misunderstanding about what they are actually eating. I personally find tracking the Macros that you are given in the early stages, develops a discipline of ensuring you eat the right foods, can help to prevent cheating and help to track your progress. If you dont get the desired results then it can help to identify possible stumbling blocks in your regime. That in combination with blood tests we can tweak and fine tune it as required for the best results.

Yes the BPC phenomenon is certainly a weird one but its origins are well grounded in its Nepali roots where they would drink Yaks butter tea at high altitudes for energy. Now if we want to talk about fads then this well could be one of them, sadly there is a lot of misinformation about this and people do not treat it as the meal it’s supposed to be. Me personally i enjoy my coffee with some cream in it in the morning.

I must admit I haven’t read his books but will have to check them out!!

Yes sadly a lot of corporations or board rooms are only interested in the bottom line and don’t really care about the potential good that they could be causing. Yet they wonder why the attrition rates are so high in those that don’t get the desired results. Imagine if these people had positive results early on and started bringing other undit people to the gym when they see the pounds coming off.

That is a very good point. Being able to track from an early stage would definitely give you a better understanding of where you slipped up and what foods matter more than most. Not to mention it will help you create lasting habits.

I didn't know that! I can't remember the guy who created the Bullet Proof Diet but I know he was mad into his 'biohacking'. I think some of the concepts are great and if they work, thumbs up. Some people try to substitute to much and they totally neglect their health. It has to start with a solid foundation and grow from there.

Right? Imagine if they were able to train people who to develop their fitness better and the knock on effect would result in more people sticking it out in the gym for longer. Too many supplements marketed wrong and not enough education for those walking into a gym for the first time. Some people just hate reading.

Yes the creator of the BPC actually came up with the idea after a visit to tibet where he tried the yak butter tea, and then refined the idea to coffee and the MCT oil that he uses today for it.

Right? Imagine if they were able to train people who to develop their fitness better and the knock on effect would result in more people sticking it out in the gym for longer. Too many supplements marketed wrong and not enough education for those walking into a gym for the first time. Some people just hate reading.

Yes I know its a crazy business model but actually showing that gyms have a role in helping the general population in becoming more healthy, how can that be!! Gyms are only for healthy people.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57