Sort:  

Also, I would like to know... I know that everything in our current science books are wrong. They will be thrown out in a couple generations. So, my understanding of science is constantly bumping heads with many "science trained" individuals.

Its like bringing up the flat earth, but far worse. People will stake their lives on Newton's theory of gravity, although it has been proven wrong.

I should write a story about how to build a free energy device. It will, of course, be considered hard science fiction.

Can you all deal with that in your contest?

We’ll deal with anything. It’s the mainstream publisher who might tell someone to take a hike.

If you use Microsoft Word, just use the word count it gives you. Google docs, which is required for submission, Has the same feature.

OK, then I am out. I will not touch those two systems.

But, I would still like to know how to count words. Is "elephantine" one word or two?

I'm curious @builderofcastles - what "system" would you use then that would allow for community editing and revisions of your draft in real time? And why not on Google docs - a pretty darn widespread open source software everyone can access?

Boogle's motto is:

BE EVIL

I will have nothing to do with them.
Boogle Docs is only, mostly, open source. Sorta, kinda.
Do a Boogle search for "Google Docs Open Source" and what you will get is a bunch of sites for alternatives to Boogle Docs that ARE open source.

You have to have access to a Boogle drive, and a Boogle login to be able to use Boogle Docs. It is not open to everyone.

In using it, you give Boogle rights to your writing.
Your writings are also given to many other alphabet agencies.

I’m not particularly a google supporter at all, but it is simply not true that in using google docs you give them rights to your work product. I support your right to not support any corporation you choose but I’d appreciate you not spreading incorrect information that might stop people from entering the contest. Thanks.

Then read their terms of service
Then read copyright law
Then read such world binding agreements like the TPP
and tell me how I am wrong.

I am not spouting untruths.
But, I guess, we shouldn't worry too much about copyright rights, as they will become unenforceable with our lifetimes.

One word. If you don't want to work in Google docs, but would like to enter, you can work up your draft in the app of your choice and copy the thing in a doc you made just for the sake of submitting... I think some others at the Writer's block do this too.

I am not a computer novice.
I would prefer to use my own book writing software.

But, what they want with boogle docs is the collaborative editing.
So, it comes back to me, and then back to them... it has to stay in boogle.

And, by using boogle docs, you give up too many rights to your works.
So, even if it is only a copy/paste, I will not do it.

Well, I am a computer novice.

Do you know of another way to allow people to do collective editing? I'd like to learn more.

If you use Startpage and Boogle "google docs open source" you will get several links to such collaborative editing tools.

Such as:
Etherpad
Libre Office
Open-Xchange

Libre office requires that we DOWNLOAD your work. Many of us do editing on a variety of devices, such as tablets and cell phones. Google is compatible with all that and is easy to use for our many not-techy members. It doesn't sound like we can help you if you don't trust the software that we're comfortable with.

I understand you far more than you can ever understand me.

It is not because of boogle docs, it is because of boogle drive that it is so convenient.

You could do the same thing with Dropbox and Libre.

But, I will not lower my standards for a writing contest. Further, my question about hard "science" was brushed aside.

So, I will just leave you all to your usual patterns. Sorry for bothering you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67