BuddyUP Logo Briefing : (Retracted Contest)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

UPDATE


Since we have had 0 entries, we have decided to retract the contest and have made a post here explaining the new plan. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We stated in the writing below that we are taking our branding seriously. There are too many uncertainties present from this contest and it puts us in a difficult situation. Please head over to the new post here to understand our next steps and the reasoning behind the retraction.

If anyone has been working on a logo, please send me a message so we can discuss your work and I will send you a small prize; as a gesture of good faith.



tank.jpg


This picture should get your attention?





Do you even art?

anenomecover.jpg

After much deliberation and debate, we have decided to give you guys the chance to come up with the BuddyUP logo.

We want to make sure that we have a fantastic logo for the community, that shows what we are all about. I don't think that giving people a week to design and attempt this (given that some people have busy schedules) is long enough to create something of such significance. Instead, I will be hosting this over the next fortnight. I will be heavily promoting this post and asking for any members of the BuddyUP community to share it around too. It will be featured in PYPT tomorrow morning and evening, I'll be dropping it in many post-promotion channels and hopefully, some of you can too.



Everyone likes a prize, right? It's better than nothing.

koicover.jpg

The two-week contest, heavily promoted and it's also going to be running alongside our new weekly art contest? "Hmmm, that sounds like it's going to be a pretty big post."

The prize is going to be the total of the two contest posts + a contribution from the BuddyUP community.

As well as this prize, next weeks post will be adding an extra element to the contest for anybody who has already created the logo and wants to go for the side pot too. This will be 30% of the total prize pool (it will be subtracted from the whole amount, so if you want to knock it out of the park and go for the full pot, show us what you're made of).



The briefing

fishreflectheader.png

I'd love to just let you guys go wild on this one but I think there needs to be a little bit of guidance given so that we don't end up losing what the community is all about. I will leave you some mock-ups that I have made that can hopefully give you some inspiration. As well as some mock-ups, there was also a brilliant idea given by @jonny-clearwater which I would love to see created.

Here are a few images that I have cropped from various images on Unsplash.com:


logo1.png

I was unable to recreate @jonny-clearwater's idea because unfortunately, I am not very skilled in photoshop. He came up with the idea to put two fish inside another bigger fish, symbolizing that in BuddyUP we grow together. This was a brilliant idea and it really works with our motto and what the community is all about.


logo2.png

This was a mock-up I had created for @eqko last week. I thought that this image could be innovated into some form of pixel art to represent the two fish, although being different, being in it together and growing. Eqko also showed some interesting Ying and Yang images of two fish intertwined. Pretty cool.


logo3.png

I'd used this image in the last update post and there is something about it that really stands out. Somebody might be able to make use of this in the contest.


logo4.png

I cropped this from a picture of two dolphins swimming alongside each other. I thought about @jonny-clearwater's idea and wondered if someone could put two fish inside of the dolphin. Swimming upstream and by growing together we will all become 'dolphins'.



Guidelines


  • The image needs to be an original graphic created by the author.

  • No manipulation of images or use of third-party graphics.

  • Preferably in VECTOR format or a layered PSD or GIMP file. Minimum resolution 2000px.

  • You may trace from a reference to then create a high resolution or VECTOR image.

  • Upload your image to postimage or somewhere similar and leave a comment on the post. If you post your logo in the first week, you will be eligible for next weeks contest.

  • All logos are subject to additional tweaking and editing. Consideration will be taken to fund this, if any extra work is needed.



Anything else?

anenomecover2.png

I think you have all you need to get going. Like I said prior, I will be shoving this post in everyone's face so if you have anybody else who might be interested in the contest, share it around! With that being said, I appreciate any support for the contest and the community as a whole. We are growing more and more every day and I'm loving the vibes in the BuddyUP server.

Good luck to everyone taking part in the contest and I hope to hear from all of you very soon. Anybody entering the competition will receive a comment on Sunday notifying them about the Weekly Art contest we are starting. I hope this isn't regarded as spam and if it's something you don't want to receive, let me know when you drop in your entry.

Enjoy yourself and go for it! We're looking forward to seeing your creations. As always...


We all grow together




fishsss.jpg




This has been @calumam, thank you for reading.


All images are taken from Unsplash.com


Here is the BuddyUP discord server: (https://discord.gg/3d5H3K8)




This post is the OFFICIAL MAP on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 

Sort:  

I will try find some time to have a crack at a logo for you @calumam. I have a few ideas in my head, but you know what it's like trying to extract brain data onto paper...

Brilliant @praada! Looking forward to seeing your entry.

You got to get the doodles on the go, nothing like scribbling some brain farts onto paper!

@buddyup, I'm sure you'll find this community will deliver! Especially when it comes to creative projects like this.

I've heard good things about BuddyUp so far, how did you come across it @calumam?

I created the community at the start of February. It started out as an incentive to get users below 1000SP involved with a community and engaging genuinely. After a month or so gaining feedback and creating the server, it's evolved into something bigger where we focus on people of all influence.

We're still growing every day and learning how to plan ahead but it's moving along nicely. Amazing group of people in the community which always makes the days easier.

Hard to go very far on Steemit without having a team or being actively involved in some sort of community. Glad it's going well :)

That's very true. Some people just need a little bit of guidance to get off to the right start.

Thanks for stopping by. I'll hopefully see you in the near future.

Make sure you pick a true vector image as your winner, you will thank yourself down the road.

Thanks for the advice pal, much appreciated. I'll thank you down the road!

Hi there - Can anyone join Buddyup? It sounds like a good place to be if you're a little fish like me :) I am no help with your logo though as I'm rather challenged in the art and tech departments :)

Of course you can! You can find the discord link at the bottom of the post. Looking forward to seeing you :)

its where i spend the most time @andysantics48 !!!! i will be SOOOOOOOOOOOO happy if you come join! hehehehehe

I will try to catch time for the logo. Examples in post are more like photo manipulations, so I might go in that direction.

No manipulation of images or use of third-party graphics.

The images used in the post are credited and cut from Unsplash images. They are used as inspiration only and are not going to be used in our branding.

Looking forward to your entry, just read over the guidelines again to make sure you understand the requirements :)

how did i miss upvoting and commenting on this?!?!?!? it was my port!!!! hahahahaha (hectic day - glad I saw i hadn't voted yet so i can COMMENT now too hehehe)

ohhhhhh i hope that we get A LOT of logos to choose from!!!!! we need a proper face ;)

I can't wait until they start rolling in hehehehehe :)

I can't believe I missed replying to all the comments on here!! Slipped right through the cracks, I'm going to need to get a secretary hahaha.

Hopefully we get a few entries in tomorrow but if not it's not the end of the world, we have always got next week :)

Hello there! I missed quite a lot but then would still love to follow and get myself updated. #buddyup as what I have foreseen earlier is a really great way for a steemian to be well-supported here. The success should only come from one's self on how we try to be consistent in our goals set for ourselves. I'm transparent enough to say that our community is my third family here on steemit. The time it was being developed and still under process is the time I have already been active with my other two groups. At the moment I am still having some personal issues but it won't affect the blasting level of my enthusiasm here in this community. I will submit my entry within three days.

Don't worry about it @fycee. Our door is always open and you've been with us from the beginning so I always appreciate your support.

You can enter into the contest still, it is going to be running for another week so there is plenty of time. It sounds like your other two groups are fantastic so make sure you keep up with the engagement there and whenever you have the time to drop by and hang out with us, we will be there :)

Oh nice.. This competition is like made for someone i know. Get over here. @ivan.atman. 😁

Sorry for the very late reply! Like I said below to crazybgadventure, this post has slipped through the cracks. Thanks for getting @ivan.atman involved, I really appreciate that.

Thank you for stopping by!

I am terrible at graphics but I have upvoted and resteemed for you my friend good luck with it you are doing amazing things for the platform.

Thank you very much @crazybgadventure, this post seemed to slip under my radar and I've missed a lot of messages (not good when it's a contest I know haha!). Thanks for the support again, I appreciate your encouraging words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59