You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick contest for 5 SBI: help Nate pick some herbs

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Love this idea @nateonsteemit! I think worthy of an actual post!

I like some of your commentors preferences. Off the top of my head what I am never without in my garden:

  1. Aloe Vera. It is amazing! Very pretty flower although only once a year. The value of aloe is endless. For skin problems or tummy problems or cuts and burns and stings. It is believed to be a mild sun screen
  2. Rosemary. This has an almost permanent profusion of pretty flowers and is extremely resilient. Bees LOVE them. Plus they give off a delicate scent. Excellent for cooking - roast dishes both meat and veggies. They are a wonderful heart tonic, great for blood circulation. It is also used to treat memory and concentration.
  3. Wormwood. Not floral or sweet smelling, in fact as you'll read in Scripture it is bitter as gall. But such a powerful healer! I use it extensively in treating parasites. My chickens self medicate by eating the seeds (shocker!) and my goats freely gulp down the leaves. It is also excellent in treating fever and tummy complaints.
  4. Chamomille is rather a delicate looking herb, and I find needs a little pampering in our area (with temperatures similar to yours) so you may not have success with it. Famously known for its calming properties. It is also great for immune boosting and treating tummy issues. Another herb almost always in bloom.
    5......hard to choose as I have gardens full of herbs. Will have to think about this one.
Sort:  

Hey, thanks for stopping in! Aloe would be great for sure. It's a main ingredient in a lot of the wife's lotions that she already uses. Wormwood you say? I'd love to make some real absinthe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66