You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Daily Contest: Write A Drabble

in #contest6 years ago

ryan prison 2.jpg
Original artwork by @crypt-skip

How did things go this wrong? I imagined my leisure time after I retired to be filled with visits from my grandchildren. I didn't expect my time to be dedicated to visiting their father in prison. Ryan played basketball starting with YMCA league and through all 4 years of college. He majored in criminal justice. What an irony. He joined the military and deployed to Iraq because his younger brother had joined and gotten deployed. He came home safe and sound and started a family. What happened? A severe 3rd degree burn, leading to an addiction to pain killers. The opioid crisis is real.

Sort:  

WINNER
It really is an unfortunate situation.

Yes it is, and unfortunately, this is a true story. I wish it was fiction. Those last few months before he hit bottom were like watching a train wreck and being unable to stop it. And now that he's been incarcerated for about 6 months he's, of course, fully back to the man I know and I love. Facing the realization of what has happened to his life and missing his 4 year old daughter and 6 year old son. I can only hope and pray that he remembers these lessons and wants to be the man he was before the drugs. I'm sorry if this wasn't the kind of story you were expecting. I'll do fiction next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44