You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Paid to Rant #9! All Rants Win! Plus 5 SBD Grand Prize

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

The current drop in the Bitcoin price and subsequent knock-on effect really pisses me off and not because the value of my portfolio is down or anything, because I hodl: because my smug coworkers, my smug family and smug friends are now all self righteous about "how they knew Bitcoin was a scam" and "how could it not go down, cryptocurrencies aren't real money"

It's annoying and highly ironic that many of these same people were calling me up just a few weeks ago and asking me questions about how they can invest, over the Christmas break everyone was impressed that I had the foresight to invest into cryptocurrency. Everyone wanted my help "getting into Bitcoin"

People are so close minded and brainwashed by the traditional banking system which clearly does not work, because people are in serious debt and debt keeps on growing.

People keep on spending money they don't have, banks are reckless with customer funds and get bailed out then they screw up, they keep printing more money because fiat is the biggest scam in history and we all sit there complacent participating in a corrupt economy.

Institutions like the Federal Reserve print more money, the US government keeps raising the debt ceiling, lenders are reverting back to their reckless ways that caused the 2009 financial crisis and yet, cryptocurrency is the scam?

Then cryptocurrencies come along like Bitcoin that give us the opportunity to change the paradigm, participate in a new economy that can't be controlled by a corrupt government institution that runs itself with impunity and people decry cryptocurrency as a scam and not real money because they can't go to McDonald's and fill their arteries with trans fats? Cryptocurrency is more real and democratic than fiat will ever be.

Then you have aunt Susan saying spiteful things at the family BBQ (knowing all too well you invested into Bitcoin) like, "Oh, I am so glad I didn't buy Bitcoin they're saying it's a scam on the TV" and then you have members of your family calling you up and saying, "Have you seen the news, Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies are crashing, the bubble is bursting" YES I HAVE SEEN THE NEWS AND I AM NOT AN IDIOT, I DON'T PANIC SELL WHEN THE PRICE GOES DOWN 20%, HOW DO YOU THINK I MADE MONEY FROM CRYPTO IN THE FIRST PLACE?

Then you have the so called investors/hodlers/traders who are just a bunch of accidental millionaire kids who bought the right coin at the right time, panic selling because a country that already banned exchanges and ICOS(China) are desperately trying their best to destroy crypto said they'll try banning it even further.

Ultimately this is what the government and these corrupt financial institutions want people to think, they don't like the idea of a self governing currency that you can't print more of when things go bad or cook the books so if you get audited, everything looks like it's someone else's fault. And still after all of this, the tax department still expects me to pay tax on my cryptocurrency earnings, they won't acknowledge it as real, but they still expect their tax cut... what a joke.

Sort:  

very relatable :(

So so true. Everyone was enjoying the ride, but now, they have all turned to prophets.

The coins will go back up soon enough and I think it is just a waiting game until they do. I've got some coins but can't cash them out right now because they are lower than I bought them.coin b.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50