You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Bit Curious Contest #2 100 SBD in Prizes - 7-10-18

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

First I would like to commend you for running a contest with simple rules, a good distribution rate and generous awards. If I had the ability, I would be more generous with 'my' contest awards too. These contests are a good way to keep people engaged here on steemit, learn about the platform and increase their earnings.

What most people seem to complain about on steemit, is 'mostly' related to 'earnings'; and the various methods we might employ to increase them. e.g. bots, curation trails, auto voting, vote trading etc...

Though I used to dislike those things which appeared to be just 'a club' type thing, as time goes on, and I learn a bit more about how these things may benefit 'anyone' in time (with consistency, and effort) I no longer am against such mechanisms to grow our accounts here.

What 'does' bother me still is the continuous rules in place here regarding 'how' rewards are paid out/distributed. They are certainly discouraging to everyone, not just newbies. One of the worse is something already mentioned here by charitybot regarding the 'rounding down' of .001 and .002 minnow votes to 'ZERO'

That is certainly one BIG slap in the face for 'all' members with less than .003 in VP...and greatly discourages posting, commenting and retention on the platform.

@dustsweeper has emerged as a method to help combat this great loss to newbies, but even their help is limited to 'your' votes to others...not both ways unless the person who votes on your post is also a @dustsweeper member.

That's about it for now. Once again, thank you for this contest.

Sort:  

I appreciate your comment. Unfortunately not everyone can afford to give such generous rewards, technically speaking I can't really afford it, but I'm considering it a paid learning experience. So in the end the benefits outweigh the costs for me.

One of the first things I looked into / saw on Youtube was a video about bid bots and how to earn a % return with them. Which is one things I'm currently testing. Through testing this I also realized that they offer not only a potential return, but visibility. For me this is what many would call "killing two birds with one stone".

If I can actually earn any % of return from a bid bot, then I'll reinvest a percent of it to grow, and give a percent of it away like I am now.

The rounding of votes worth can be problematic and discouraging for many, especially from a psychological standpoint. Getting a $0.00 vote kind of makes you, in some ways, feel the content you posted has the same value as that vote.

Thank you for responding @bit.curious with your input. Good luck with the 'bot' experiment, and best wishes in your journeying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.84
ETH 2398.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56