New 'Comment Contest' #2..."What Would You Change/Improve on Steemit"..? STATUS 'Closed'

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

If you had a bigger voice...or better yet, 'total control' over the steemit platform, what aspect would you change in order to make it even better than it is?

                              Source

Since we had so much fun with our first Comment Contest, with the response bigger than expected, we decided to do it again. Thanks so much for all who participated; we hope to see you here again.

This time, there will be 'three' top spots instead of two, with all three spots receiving the 'same' award; a 'SteemBasicIncome' membership for lifetime 'author votes'...A great project here on steemit for all budding content creators; especially minnows struggling to get noticed and votes...

So based on the above prompt, leave a comment for a chance to win 1 of 3 @steembasicincome membership nominations...

ENDING DATE...April 24, 2018...3 Days From The Date of This Posting

RULES:

'NONE'...

Suggestions/Hints 

Help keep the judges from getting eye strain by not submitting a 'novel' please.

Limit Pictures, Memes or other Add Ons to save space.

Good luck and best wishes to all.


Sort:  

I would add a chat inside the steemit platform, to be able to contact anybody in your followers list. That would be any easier way for everybody to follow each one and one another's posts and activities.

I would like to see a simple notifications tab so when there a any activity like upvotes, comments, resteem’s, mention’s and payouts, they can be all seen with in this tab and you could get to then easier via hyperlinks to that particular post.
Secondly I would like the create a post page to have a little better formatting. The one we have now is good but it can be much better. For example fonts,coloured text,frames etc

Great insentive for people to make a difference thanks for the opportunity
KEEP STEEMING

Good ideas @father2b ...the activity synopsis can be in the form of a 'landing page' upon signing in like some other sites have.

Your frustration with posting options is well taken. There are some ways to justify and add to the look of your posts with a bit of 'coding' but I suspect that in the future, steemit will do it for us, then we can just do mouse clicks, with perhaps drag and drops, for a smoother, more creative and relaxing experience.

I would like a more precise approach to tags. At this early stage in navigating Steem, my feed often ends up cluttered with topics I don't care much about.

Specifically, I'm thinking of the option to follow and exclude tags, and tag + creator combinations (ex. : follow all posts about # myhometown, follow all posts from @ thatguy except those tagged # personal).

A side feature would be getting the list of users following each tag.

Good suggestions...I too don't care much about some content from people I follow, and it would be nice not to have my feed cluttered with stuff I have little or no interest in...Perhaps a simple 'subject' blocking or 'subject muting' option can simplify the process?

Yes, that would be a good start, and simple enough to code.

I think many people on steemit are here to write quality content. But there are some who are here to just enjoy. I think , there should be some games here.
I know there are many contests going on steemit. But a flash game or something would attract more audience. Just a suggestion :)

Interesting suggestion @aniketmore. Thanks for sharing.

No novels you say? To anyone that knows me they will understand my quandary!

If I had the powers of an evil benevolent overlord I would have the witnesses come together and brainsteem (It's like a brainstorm but waaay more powerful) a workable, implementable way to encourage those approaching dolphin-like status to actively welcome new users to the platform offer them a code of conduct and a blueprint to move forward in those early days, weeks and months.

This is the most crucial time to nurture fragile confidence and encourage improvement, highlight pleasing aspects of writing and set the fry free to swim under their own steem. Step 2 I am sure is obvious to most here. I would de-incentivize posting rubbish and self voting yourself for 10, 15, 20 dollars.

Finally as I highlighted in my fave Discord this morning I would form a coalition of "financial benevolence" I couldn't think of anything less pretentious and pompous...I am British :)

Correction...I WILL form one!

Imagine what many of us combined with real influence and the financial backing of-course could do for the most desperate people on the planet? People for whom a dollar or 2 could make all the difference in the world. In no way do I lay this duty, this responsibility at anyone's or indeed everyone's feet...But those who choose to become a part will have a far more rewarding journey ultimately. The rewards they receive will be far greater than merely financial.

This is what the blockchain means to me.

Sorry about the length, it all seemed too important to edit, and I had far more to say haha. I have waived my right to pictures/graphics or a final meal by way of apology) :D

Re-steemed and promoted on Discord to improve visibility. Thankyou from all the little guys and gals out there.

Take good care and enjoy the journey :)

Apology accepted for the 'essay'...because, I understand the inclination to elaborate when emotions take over. Anyway...a good post with the "benevolence" aspect the most interesting. I might add that there 'is' a small segment here on steemit which share that view; hopefully 'growing'.

If you choose to go in the direction of financial benevolence, I hope that you succeed in coming up with a way to do that without making it too burdensome for partners and recipients...

I almost forgot...Thank you for the re-steem, vote and discord plug.

You are more than welcome it was an amazing prompt.
Yes I have stumbled upon some of the movements you mentioned, people have referred me to those of similar vision. It prompted me to write a post on what I believe we are capable of.
Take great care :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80