You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

italy-2080072_640.jpg

Red sky at night, shepherds' delight;
Red sky in the morning, shepherds' warning.

Those were the old rhymes I knew about the Bloody Red Sky while I was a shepherd at one Mountain Village. Too bad that I did not remember those when it really mattered.
It was a nice sunny morning and I was getting ready to prepare for the daily tour with my sheep around the village. I did not pay much attention to the sky which was Bloody Red, I guess I was much into getting all sheep out and feeding the dogs.
So I went on my regular route I go every day. All looked and sounded peaceful. Well, maybe too peaceful actually. That made me think if something was going on.
I looked around if there is anyone or anything close to me or my sheep but I just saw nothing more than a couple of flies and a crow.
And then it happened from nowhere.. A lightning struck down on one of my sheep and a vicious storm started out of nowhere. Right at that moment, I remembered those poetic words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58