You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MAKE A DIFFERENCE Contest • 0.300 SBD for 1 Good Deed

in #contest7 years ago

There are so many good people, we just have to look through the bad.

This happened to me a couple of weeks ago, it was not an act of kindness I did, it was a proffered act of kindness to me.

I am a small and thin person. The other day I had just walked home from the shops. There was a knock on my door a minute later. When I opened it, an elderly Italian lady was standing on the doorstep. I smiled and said "Can I help you?"

To which she replied "No, I want to help you. You look so skinny, are you hungry?"

I replied that I was fine, there was no need to worry, but she insisted. "Look at you, all skin and bone, no meat! You need to eat. Come, I will get you some food."

I reassured her again that I was not hungry, and she again insisted. "I saw you walking, so slowly, you need food for energy, and so skinny, you need to eat. I am on my way to the takeaway shop, come, I will buy you a hamburger."

I smiled and thanked her for the offer, re-assured her I had plenty of food, but appreciated her thinking of me and declined as graciously as I could.

She left and I was left to ponder on the goodness of some people. Despite not taking her up on the offer of a feed, the action of her offer touched me deeply and left me with a smile for the rest of the day. Just knowing there are still people who care about strangers enough to knock on their door and offer to help was enough to improve my entire outlook on life and I still laugh at her insistence that "You need a woman to take care of you, so skinny..."

Sort:  

I don't have 0.3 SBD yet to give but my upvote, my sincere appreciation and my resteem for this post will make sure an added visibility for the kind act you are willing to give!

Imagine just willing to offer a help to some other people will make you surprised they would be more than willing to help you out instead! If all people will just have this in mind and not just purely do this for the sake of popularity then the world will STILL be a nice place to live in!

Mate, don't worry about the SBD, put it to a better use. I shared this so others could share in the niceness of this woman's actions and maybe be inspired by her.

Deeply touched with your kindness. Instead of feeling bad about it and thinking negatively despite the person is willing to help you, steemit is a best place to share those good thoughts and inspire other people with this. I just gotten aware of your SBD delegation. I posted something on one of your recent posts as a sign of gratefulness. Have a wonderful day @andyfishman !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58