We won the Spirit Award at Windmill!! Why attitude matters, and my first ever 1 SBD prize contest!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

New communities

This last year, I've become part of some new communities. Of which the two most important ones are Steemit, and Ultimate Frisbee. One is blockchain and web based, for bloggers and crypto holders, for communicating ideas and growing Steem. The other is on grass or beach, based on body movements, physical technique and stamina, real life team efforts. Two completely different communities, right? Well, yes. And no. Because in both Steemit and in Ultimate Frisbee, attitude matters. The spirit of the game, as we call it in Ultimate, and believing in and supporting the community, as we talk about it in Steemit - they are at the core of what makes these communities awesome!

Triple Mamasitas, and winning the Spirit Award!

Last weekend I was part of Windmill, an international Ultimate Frisbee tournament hosted in Amsterdam, where the top teams in the world come and play high level Ultimate. What was I doing there? Being lucky! I've only been playing for one year and no way I deserved a spot based on skills. A pick-up team, Triple Mamasitas, with mostly Spanish speaking ladies (I was the exception) needed more players and I was asked.

I had the time of my life. It was SO MUCH FUN to play a lot of Ultimate with a team of high level players. And in general, to get to watch others play and see what is actually possible in the world of Ultimate, what high level competition really looks like. I got so inspired to get much better. And gained a lot more very valuable game experience. Of the 16 ladies teams, our team ranked number 13. Which I am actually proud of, because with a team that only plays together for a first time we really improved as we went through the tournament. But even more importantly, we won the Windmill Spirit award!!

IMG_0009.jpg

Windmill Spirit Award

The Spirit of the game

If you are not familiar with the sport Ultimate Frisbee, you are in for a surprise. Because Ultimate has it all. To play, you need to be fast, need a great mind for game strategy, throwing skills, and you need physical endurance. And, you need to be in charge of your attitude and maintain the spirit of the game! Which means you stay respectful of all players on the field at all times, that you are honest about what occurs on the field, that any fouls or calls are solved between the players themselves, that you stay positive and supportive and appreciative of each other and of the achievements of both teams.

In practice, this means that after an awesome score, teams congratulate each other, give a high five, make a compliment. It's not part of the spirit of the game to get angry or loose your temper when you yourself or someone else makes a mistake. It's OK to be competitive, to want to win, to be fierce. But it's as important to appreciate quality, whether it comes from your own team or the other, to have fun to create a great match of Ultimate together. At the end of the game, teams come together into a huddle and reflect on the match.

The spirit of the game - being fair and positive, respectful and to give it your all - is very much appreciated in Ultimate. That's why at tournaments, apart from the regular scores for who won the game, all teams also give each other a spirit score. The team with the highest score gets the Spirit award.

IMG-20180625-WA0004.jpg

Triple Mamasitas team, getting ready for the yell.

Ultimate and Steemit

I started out by saying the Ultimate and Steemit community are very different, but have this one thing in common: attitude matters. In Steemit it is similar: going for the win is great, it is expected of any self-respecting Steemian, we all want to succeed here and we should. But as in Ultimate, we win AND contribute to the community. We celebrate our own victories, AND those of others. Fellow Steemians are not people we want to win from, they are people we want to create an awesome game with, together. It is not about being better than others, it is about getting better together. God I love that. I'm sure it is why I'm feeling so at home so quickly in both these communities!

Teaching others is the best way to learn

As I'm just starting my second year of Ultimate, I'm very grateful towards all those people around me, Ultimate experts from my perspective, who are willing to take me along, explain the game, give me feedback on my performance. Their patience and their love for the game and their enthousiasm to share it with me are such amazing gifts. Too bad they are not here on the platform for me to give a shout out ;). But I know from experience that as we involve new people into the game, as we teach others what we have been learning ourselves, our own skills evolve even more. Our awareness of what we are doing, of how we can improve, grows!

On Steemit, I see similar things happening. People who are taking that extra step to support the community, to involve others, to guide them and support them to grow - they get more and more involved in the community, more and more respected community members. It's not just in these two communities. During my two year stay at an ashram in India, one of the four life principles I was taught was called enriching. Enriching others, doing all you can to support them in achieving what they want - this was one of the four principles for successful living in Vedic philosophy. And I've seen it, it really works. Life is organized like that: when you share and give and support, when you operate from a space of abundance, life reflects all that back to you.

page break small.png

Mesopotamians

My Ultimate mentors are not on this platform, to show them some appreciation. I'll do that in real life though, on the field. But as this post is about attitude, about going for the win AND supporting the community, I want to show a bit of extra thanks here to someone who is giving a great example of that. A while back, I came across @tcpolymath's initiative to support Steemit minnows to grow into middle class Steemit community members. I got included in his Mesopotamians project, which you can follow @m-sargon.

With so much Ultimate going on, I've been a bit more quiet on Steemit the last few days. But I wanted to share this somewhere (on the blockchain of course) that the support given by @tcpolymath and the confidence he holds in me and the potential he sees to be a community member that adds value and gives back to the community and will make a difference for fellow users too... That just really, really makes me happy. And inspires me to grow and think about more ways to add value to this Steemit community. And instead of just leaving it at random ideas, I decided to go ahead and try some new ways of getting involved and supporting others here on Steemit. So here it goes, my first ever Steemit hosted contest!!!


Check out this video a friend shared, from the physiotherapy room at the Windmill tournament. One amazing example of how the Ultimate community is full of creativity, of selfless contributing and just sharing the magic and having a great time together!!

Magical World prize contest

If you follow my blog, you might be aware I'm working on this Magical World series. I love to post about the little things which happen throughout the day, which can make a lot of difference and can add a lot of value, if you take the time to appreciate them. The idea is - the world is full of magic. And we are very capable of seeing it, and sharing it. And when we do, we make this life experience a more and more pleasant one!

I've been thinking on how to contribute to seeing more quality posts here on Steemit, and how to support beginning accounts. Since I love any topic related to growing more aware of understanding how rich we are and how much magic we have at our fingertips, I'll relate my contest (contestS, if this is going to be a success) to the Magical World theme. So, if you want me to find your posts, use #magicalworld as a hashtag. I'm looking for posts that share a bright moment, that include that certain positive and responsible attitude that I've been mentioning in this above post.

Specifically, for this first (possibly last, but possibly first of many) contest I'll ask you to share about how you've found support in the communities around you in your personal life. What or who has helped you grow as a person, what did you take away from the process? Or in short: What is your story of finding support, and how did it make your life a little bit more magical?

page break small.png

Summing it up:

Prize available: 1 SBD

How to participate: 1) write a post about finding support, and how it made your life more magical. 2) use #magicalworld as a hastag, so I'll find you. Replies to this post with a link to your blog also welcome!

And after 7 days I'll call out a winner and reflect on this first contest attempt!

Great examples

At the Windmill tournament, I got so excited to get better at playing Ultimate. Being part of the Mesopotamians project gets me very excited to grow into being that community supporting middle class Steemian! In general, isn't it just worth the world to be surrounded by beautiful and inspiring examples? To be part of communities that value attitude and mutual support? Hope you feel the same way, and hope you'll join in on sharing your stories! Let's add a bit of magic every day!


DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

A super cool and well written contest @amritadeva . I used to play volleybal in a high level for years and years so I can tell you a thing or two about functioning a team. And yeah, encouragement is everything in teamsport. You are literally able to uplift you team member or mentally break them and with that your team...and it will not even cost you that much effort, so better choose option A ;)

I had a friend playing ultimate frisbee in Eindhoven and it always seemed like a super fun sport to me. I glad you are enjoying it so much!

Cool contest you have there, let me see if I can make a post with it! (should be doable since I am emigrating tomorrow again into a new country in this #magicalworld hihihi

Thank you so much! Your feedback means a lot :). I would absolutely love to see your contribution to this first try-out contest. If you find the time, I'd be honoured and already looking forward to the read :).

Volleyball is an awesome game too. Never got to really try it out. Played soccer for a bit. Compared to my experiences with that, Ultimate is just a much better fit!

So you are making a move again...! At least I know you are keeping your spirits high, being able to make jokes about it... Wishing you all the best of luck on your travels and settling down again! Where are you going?

I got a job in Switzerland, so not too shabby life heading ahead of me. Monday I will start ;))

Holland was just temporary these two months ;)

It might take a bit with my post, because this weeks is gonna be weird. haha. Untill then, let me resteem your post for more interaction!

Resteem much appreciated! :) Switzerland seems like a lovely choice for a new home. You'll have all these beautiful mountain scene pictures to share here :D. Good luck!!

Thank you so much for the kind words, and good luck with your contest.

Thank you, for all the ongoing support!!

Wow! I found this post thanks to resteem of @c-squared. I only saw the picture about the spirit award, and said "This user play Ultimate!" because ago some days my friend Jullieth Espinoza posted in her Facebook the same photo.

Is awesome found other Ultimate player in Steemit, and is amazing that you are a friend of my friend.

I feel so happy, I don't know much pleope here that play our sport, and is so cool meet you.

You have a great energy, I wish you success in your contest. A big hug, UP! 💙

Wow, what a coincidence!! If you know Jules, you might also know Vanessa Tejero? Meeting up with them in a few hours, at the beach at Hoek van Holland. Going to try a bit of beach Ultimate for the first time, as we're having a beach tournament next weekend and I never played beach before, lol.

Isn't it just such a small world :). There are some more Ultimate players around here. Some time back I found @fingersik, and there are definitely more. The Ultimate community is a lovely one, just like Steemit. Real nice to get to meet you here and we should definitely keep our eyes open, who knows we'll meet some day at a tournament!! :D :D

Btw Jules is in the second picture. You only see her gold coloured earring though ;).

Oh yeah! I know who Vanessa is. It's amazing that you three play together. I wish you well in the beach tournament.

I did not know @fingersik! Now I only know two Ultimate players here in Steemit, you and him.

I hope we see each other soon in a tournament. Meanwhile, we are still in contact here. Let's take this opportunity to show Steemit why our sport is one of the best in the world 😄💙

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by amritadeva from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76