You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Questions Contest #37 | Who is your most admired scientist? | Reply and win SBD & Smartcash!

in #contest6 years ago

I had to think a bit about this one. And I can't provide you with a singular scientist to be honest. Here is why:

Have you ever thought about all the foodstuffs we consume and realized that there once had to be someone who tried it for the first time?

Imagine how many poor bastards must've died eating that mushroom of which we now know it's toxic. Or that brave soul that licked the frog before anyone else had the guts to try it!

Can you see what I'm getting at?
We don't know the names of those people. I'm not sure if it's right to call them scientists per se, but they sure had the experimental drive it takes to be one!

Sort:  

Brilliant. It's true; I too have often wondered who was the first person to eat pepper.

Then I realized that the more interesting question is who was the first person to eat pepper twice.

I like your answer, and I agree.
When I peel an onion, I always think of the first person that ever tried it. He must have been damn hungry if he would still eat it after crying his eyes out while peeling it...

Exactly! :)

haha yes, I thought many times about that as well...specially with mushrooms as I love collecting them in the forest, but you need to be sure what you take hehe. Thanks for joining and your homage to the unknown scientist ;)

I stumbled upon your competition and was intrigued. It was a fun exercise to think about your question. I'm not sure if scientist is the right word. Maybe proto-scientists or pseudo-scientists. I do however think of them as unsung heroes, even if we'll never know if their actions were made out of curiosity, desperation or because they were wise or fools. Probably all of the above in some form or manner. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50