AdeTorrent Photo Contest Day 13 - Tall

in #contest6 years ago

Western Europe's Tallest

Daily casual photo challenge from @adetorrent


35170004.JPG

This photo was taken from the north bank of the Thames River, London. It was taken with the Olympus OM-1 film SLR.


The two structures juxtaposed, the bridge and the tower, are two of the newest additions to the city. The tower is called the Shard, and is the tallest building in western Europe, for now. There are two buildings taller than this one in all of Europe and they're both in Russia.

In today's challenge, you don't have to show me a building unless you really want to :)

Have fun.

Today's theme is:

Tall


2.jpg

Rules:

  1. Anybody can enter, but only 1 entry per person.
  2. No plagiarism!
  3. No stock photos, you must ONLY use your own photos.
  4. Post the required photo in the comments section.
  5. Minimum of 20 words about the photo.
  6. Votes will happen after 24.
  7. Totally at my discretion.
  8. The cut-off for posts is 24 hours after the post goes up.
  9. (OPTIONAL) - Follow, Upvote, Resteem

Rewards:

100% upvote for 1st place.
50% upvote for 2nd place.
25% upvote for 3rd place.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

When I saw today´s theme, my first thougts were some NYC high-rise buildings and giant Mayan pyramids that I have a lot of photos of but then I realized my favorite tall things are actually trees :) Here is a shot I took in the forest just outside my parents´ cottage where I love to roam aimlessly every time I visit them.

IMG_20181109_154756.jpg

Congratulations, you are the 1st Place Winner! ⭐️⭐️⭐️
I love the silhouette against the beautiful sky.

Congrats!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, thank you so much!! That was just my second entry for your countests. Just about to submit something really really old in your today´s contest :) Thanks again Ade! Have a great weekend.

Congratulation!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :)

How tall is that tree? I dont know but the trees knows how small we are :) Photo was taken somewhere in the east of Czech republic in the middle of forest.
IMG_20180928_144408.jpg

Joint 2nd Place winner! ⭐️⭐️
This photo makes me feel really small :)
I wonder if I've been to this forrest before? What's the closest town to it?

It is close to town Opava :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, probably not :) The closest I've been to that is Ostrava :)

Wow, even Ostrava... I have a strong suspicion you have been everywhere! :)

If you feel small, then I am near to non existent... 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Weldon boss this is my entry
This is one of tall artwork i saw and cherish this year King of Ife(Oba Ooni Adewusi)
IMG_20181213_131811_194.JPG

Congratulations you're a joint 2nd place winner. ⭐️⭐️
I love the way you're looking up to the Ooni.

Thanks boss

The coconut tree towers above the surrounding buildings. It's the neighborhood tallest(very much a local champion). Standing right at the end of the close, it could almost pass as a sign that there's only one exit, the way you came in. My entry is born.

Posted using Partiko Android

Joint 3rd Place winner ⭐️
I really love this photo. The dominant presence of the tree is so cool.

Yippy, thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi,
In my entry for today's contest with the theme "tall" couldn't find any better picture than this one. It is the sculpture of Decebalus, a Romanian leader from the first century which "stood tall" against the Roman Empire.

image

The statue is about 50 meters high and 25 wide and it is the biggest rock sculpture in Europe and a touristic attraction in my area, especially in summer. One that required 10 years of work and about 1 million dollars in fundings. Hope you will like it as much as I do.

Picture taken with the Samsung Galaxy S7.

Have a great day!

Joint 3rd place winner ⭐️
It must have been hard for Decebalus being right next door to the Romans. I've never been to Romania. It's on my list. This is worth seeing in real life :)

Yes it is. The sculpture is on the other shore of "Tabula Trajana" which is sculpted on the Serbian shore and it is a Roman symbol. It was intended to be sculpted in here just for that reason.

This is a strange feeling when there is such a huge bird standing next to you and she attentively examines you like through a microscope. Feeling like a microbe, next to a stack of birds, is not very pleasant. But it turned out that this ostrich was in a good mood. Acquaintance passed quietly.
Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
Author @barski
DSC05448.JPG

Hahahah. This is quite funny :) Thanks for your participation

Thank you very much!

stažený soubor.jpg
This is the most famoust giant tree I have ever seen, an iconic natural landmark of Tenerife, a giant dracanea known as El Drago. It is very big, majestic and old :)
Hope you like it, it is my very first entry to your contest;)

How did I not know about this? I've been to Tenerife and I didn't know about it :(
Welcome to the contests.

Well, I lived there for a while so I explored more than tourists usually do;)
At least you have the reason to come back one day, Im pretty sure El Drago will wait for your ;) :D

Thanks for your beautiful entry.

Recently, when people talk about something high, the first thing that comes to mind is that the dollar rate is too high in relation to Steem. For this simple reason, let it be today, there will be a photo of a high dollar, I hope that its high growth is a variable.
DSC08869.JPG

Hahaha. You're too right :) Thanks for the effort.

This is my entry for “tall”
36463567-E701-401A-B2C6-EF0B1E94FFE0.jpeg

A new condominium tower is almost ready for the market. Bangkok, similar to London and Paris, has a river passes through the capital city. The scenery along the Chao Phraya River has changed dramatically during the last five years. All the green fields, fruit orchards and hundreds of coconut trees have been replaced by five stars luxury hotels, expensive condominiums and big shopping centers. This is absolutely the newest condominium tower to me! I did not notice this three months ago! I still could not locate its project name and owner. Certainly this is a very impressive tower with a good view of the east side of the river where the Royal Grand Palace and old temples could be seen shimmering during sunrise!

Good luck and much fun to all participants.

Cheers.

That's a pretty tall building. Thanks for the entry.

Thank you very much for your kind support for participants and this great fun contest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Convention Center (KLCC) is the tallest twin towers in Malaysia. It's still the tallest twin towers in the world now. Shooting this in my car during a rainy afternoon some time back.

Posted using Partiko Android

These are very famous buildings! I hope to see them in real life one day.

Yes, they are famous. And if you are planning to visit Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia... Please do let us (@joannewong @aaronleang @bitrocker2020 and me) and others from Team Malaysia that you have met know... We would definitely love to hangout with you... And bring you on food tour... 😋😋😋

Posted using Partiko Android

FOOD TOUR!!!! 100% :)

Hahaha... @aaronleang @joannewong @zord189 our food tour guides! @adetorrent Expect to eat the moment you open your eyes until you close your eyes... At least 5 to 6 meals a day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep! Sounds about right. hahaha.

You definitely should plan a visit... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tag @elizacheng! Yes @adetorrent, we'll love to have you visit Malaysia and we'll definitely bring you for good FOOD! :D

YES! Always will have a full stomach because whenever hungry there are 24 hours restaurant that can go to.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome onboard the Malaysia Food Tour Cruise, I'll be your host of the journey..

First Stop at 5AM for some Breakfast 🙈

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77