You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Choose To Be Confrontational

in #contentiousness8 years ago (edited)

"I can easily deduce people's motives and histories from aspects of their personality, appearance and behavior by observing the way they choose to interact with their environment....What I learned from experience though is that this method can be used as a distiller machine to separate those who matter in life vs those who don’t—or better—separating the wheat from the chaff."

Respectfully @kyriacos you're not that good at deducing people's motives. Your judgment of me as being "dodgy" is an example of how judgementalism clouds a person's vision.

After eleven years of online humanitarianism, if I were "dodgy" it would have been reported. I challenge you to find one example or report that paints me as a person of bad integrity. You may find cops or other activists not agreeing with my opinions but you cannot find a single person who reports that I fucked them over.

I am curious. What "aspects of my personality, appearance and behavior" have given you the opinion that I'm "dodgy." Is it my heavily tattooed body? My dreadlocks? Can you give examples?

I am referencing the comment you made about me elsewhere on Steem:

"Most friends of mine left because they are appalled with the close jerk circle Steemit has become with many of these shady images—from convicts to dodgy ex-cops or runnaway scammers. It has become blasphemous to mess with the shilled trending Totems. What do you expect? Your regular folk to see the front page and say "Wow, I am enligted by the tinfoil, i think i will invite my friends over"?

Can you share with us who you are? What's your name and resume of achievements and failures? Where can we go to find out all about you. Is there anything online? Just curious.

Sort:  

Well said, Barry. I've been curious why @kyriacos isn't willing to be transparent with this community either. All he's bothered to say is he's a designer on a small island somewhere. I've added my comments here as well.

Why are you so obsessed with his identity? He writes what he writes, that's what matters, and you can react to that, agree with him, disagree, get angry, be amused, laugh out loud, think he is full of shit, has good points but doesn't know how to make them, whatever you like. How is his real-life persona relevant?
Anyway, if you're that curious, it took me all of five minutes to find out who he is, and so could you. He likes table tennis, does that help you in judging his postings?

@lukestokes

I made myself transparent to those I chose to be. I don't think it is important to know somebody's identity. Even if you find out who I am from those who do know me you will be pleasantly surprised.

And yet you actively judge who others are by the transparency they allow. Doesn't that seem like a double standard? Morality aside, from a game theory perspective, you see how they may encourage others not to participate with you because it signals you are not a trustworthy actor and have something to hide while taking full advantage of everyone else's transparency?

//And yet you actively judge who others are by the transparency they allow. Doesn't that seem like a double standard? //

Non-sequitor. I judge what is written based on the histories they provide to defend their position.

//Morality aside, from a game theory perspective, you see how they may encourage others not to participate with you because it signals you are not a trustworthy actor and have something to hide while taking full advantage of everyone else's transparency?//

Game theory is mostly a fancy word used mainly from economists that don't know how to sell their bullshit. Not a thing in the way you think it is. Whether I am trustoworthy or not can be deducted in time through my actions. This is how I always gain favour in the longterm even from those you initially dislike me.

After eleven years of online humanitarianism, if I were "dodgy" it would have been reported. I challenge you to find one example or report that paints me as a person of bad integrity. You may find cops or other activists not agreeing with my opinions but you cannot find a single person who reports that I fucked them over.

This paragraph sais everything for me. I am not saying you did something "bad" but I am accusing you of trying to deceive individuals through emotional manipulation by misrepresenting concepts such as humanitarianism and anarchy. This is why I believe you are dodgy. You see, the candy of "humanitarianism" is licked from self-righteous individuals who think they are "selflessly" offering something more to the world than the rest when they are not.

You, Barry Cooper, are nothing but an ex-cop who felt bad about his previous carreer and then by talking about it online tried to justify his remorse with some skin-deep anarchic and libertarian ideas. All you do is talk about how "bad the state is". That doesn't make you more of a "humanitarian" than anyone else on the face of this planet. In the same way protestors who want the state to support refugees instead of themselves are not humanitarian even if they claim to be.

We all "humanitarian". We all care about SOME people around us but not so much the rest. You chose one group of people related to your guilt (anarchists/libertarians) and then marketed that idea as something special.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47