What is “Spam” and what is “good content”?

in #content8 years ago

Hi steemians,
This is my 2. post in my blog. But before going on with my main theme I have something to discuss with you. In the last days I was reading a lot of post about “Spam” and “good Content”. What is “Spam”? What is “good Content”? A friend of mine talked to me to join the community to share my experiences. I thought about it for a few weeks and then decided to join and create a blog about my profession plastics engineering. As I told my friend about it he said it would be great and that the network needs “good Content”. But is it good content? For the most people here it might be very boring and for those it is no good content while others might like it. It took me hours to write my first blogpost and there are a lot of post that took much longer to create. But I think preparation time is not reasonable to make “good content” in a social network. For some people a good cocktail recipe, a joke or a picture of a puppy is worth a vote or is it Spam? Just because it’s easier to take a book and copy the recipe or write down the joke you heard earlier? Here it depends mostly on the audience and what they are looking for. For me I like to read stories about travelling and science but maybe one day I will vote for a post with a cocktail recipe because it was a tasty one. But is this good content even if it might be not original? I think it is because I could use it when I needed it. In my first article I had two parts (a definition and a poem) copied and thought that I had given the right source. Thanks to @treeleaves for correcting me I will be more patient next time although I never read the article you mentioned. Due to the fact that we are all making money with our postings I think it is very important to write original content or to give the source of the content. So back to the beginning: WHAT IS GOOD CONTENT?

Thanks for reading. Please feel free to discuss.

PS: I avoided being on FB for a few years and so I’m new to the problems with Spam-Bots or else. I hope that this problem can be solved by the community.

Sort:  

There's no hard definition but we could simplify it as follows: People who simply copy/paste the entire internet just to make a buck, are typically spammers. Their reasoning is that if they post more stuff, they may get more upvotes and make more money.

On the other hand those who take a long time to make their own content, or who may occasionally put a link or a meme that they like or find interesting, can't be considered spammers.

Thx for your reply. That's exactly what I thought.

Keep up the great work @plasticfuzzy
Upvoted

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.7 and reading ease of 90%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55