You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content-Type Value and Reward Discussion

in #content8 years ago

Are you sure you're not confounding censorship and flagging? I've been watching the alt-Right for some time, but I've been hesitant to evangelize therein even though they're the crew that would like a censorship-resistant platform.

I'm hesitant because I assume that some of their more edgy stuff would get flagged. To be frank, I can see why the edgier stuff would be flagged. As a platform, Steemit is censorship resistant. But as a community with real people, we've got whales & such who serve as benevolent guardians (if you will.) They'll flag offensive stuff; at least, I assume they will. Hence my hesitancy.

Speaking of flags, that's a technically feasible way of implementing an NSFW-type policy. Stuff tagged "NSFW" gets assigned a new, special flag that doesn't penalize the poster but hides the post in the same way that regular flagging does. Implementing it this way provides a stick-based incentive to hew to the NSFW policy: "Sequester it on your own, or pay the penalty of a real flagging [and real downvotes for breaking the rule]."

We'll work this issue out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18