Making Content That Reflects The Work You Want to Do in the World

in #content5 years ago


Hi Friends!

Don't mind my little soap box today as I talk about taking charge of your future and evaluating your content to see if it is really taking you where you want to go. Although there is nothing wrong with just posting whatever comes to mind that day (heck... I do that on the regular), there is also value in building a body of work that can help propel you forward and attract more of that work into your life.

I give several examples of what this could look like in the video - but one that is particularly relevant to my own journey is the topic of public speaking. If you want to start public speaking - then maybe doing something where you showcase your ability to speak such as starting a podcast or vlogging. That way when you are approached with opportunities (or are creating opportunities yourself) then you will have an entire body of work you can point someone to.

I hope you guys enjoy this video and find it a little thought provoking! As a group of content creators, I think it can be helpful to take time to reflect back every so often.

I would love to hear what you guys think on this and if you'd add anything to the conversation!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

austin.png


More of my Steemy Adventures


Watch the Latest Steem Sister Show Episode
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Join the Steem Onboarding Fundition Campaign!
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great advice, I can’t say that I know what I am working towards LOL I tend to just do whatever comes to me. Maybe that is what I want to do, whatever I feel like? The one constant I do through everything is marketing and promotion of myself and the things I’m involved with, not sure that’s exactly what I want to do but I have found it is what works for me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like your shirt ;) That is what I do! Also, I don't create something unless I like and enjoy it. Always be selling (yourself) and do what you would do if money were not an issue and what you love, always.

Hi @coruscate. Lol, sometimes I make very fresh content, not everything must be so rigid, even once I made a post of a skin cleansing process. But what I like most are travel and lifestyle. Public speaking is one of the things that I have been working on recently, it is a necessary capacity to achieve great success in life. Since I started with my videos I have been continuously improving, I have also been reading and watching tutorials. Thank you for this reflection.

Such a great advice friend,i was planning to do some videos too on public everytime i'm out to the city i will do some like what i did when we are at the Jesus Reigns celebrations. :)

Have a wonderful day!

I appreciate that perspective... thought provoking for me

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort of like building up a video resume. This is a really good idea. A professional looking online presence can really help too. My account needs a visual overhaul, and so does my content. But that's something to look forward to in the new year.

I agree with you on creating a body of work but I would also like to suggest making it evergreen ( that it would be of interest in years to come) and not just Steem specific.
Nobody knows where Steem is heading , so I think making content that can have a home on another platform is a good investment in your future.
My blog is to document my work as a sculptor over the last 20 years and although I thank Steem for inspiring me to do it. As a body of work I believe I will be sharing it in other places.

Posted using Partiko Android

You talk a lot of sense about having a goal and working towards it here. It's amazing for anybody that can take something that they love and make a career from it so building out a body of work while doing what you enjoy is a big step.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice shirt... where can I get one ?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great.... I’ll have to go next year to get one.

Excellent video Lea and excellent advice. It's obvious that you practice what you preach, as you are very comfortable in front of the camera. Merry Christmas! ⛄🎄

#SNAPfeedback

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82