You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can We Be Thankful For What We Have?

in #consumerism8 years ago

Well said @bendjmiller. A great reminder, thank you. Only tonight I was flicking through a catalogue that was handed to me in town today. I thought, ohh maybe I should get this new red kettle and matching red toaster and red microwave while I am at it. Then I paused and realised that I had all these things already and they worked just fine. It is SOOO easy to get sucked into advertising. You have to be conscious of it to fight it.

Sort:  

which shade of red? is it this years (choose any year) shade?

It is so easy. Every holiday has sales and candy and things to buy. For Christmas my family has decided to make each other gifts instead of spending money on more things. We have enough things. Probably far too many if I were to check the attic and basement and closets for things that haven't been used in years.

We like to use the money we would have spent on gifts for charities where we know the people personally and have visited to see their work. I don't want to sound like I'm putting myself on some sort of pedestal and everyone else should congratulate me or anything like that. I just think it's important to really analyze what we do with our money and whether we control it, or it controls us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69