Timber some trees start to come downsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #construction7 years ago

We have two trees on the front of our lot one is completely dead the other is half dead. Both of these trees need to come down before construction starts so today we started the project. Actually my husband started it while I supervised as the chainsaw stuff is all him. I was basically there to call 911 if something went wrong. Never use a chainsaw along if something happens, that person may need to call 911 for you. Always be safe when using chainsaws or any heavy equipment.

DSC_0001.JPG

So my husband @tecnoblast went to work with the machete cutting back the weeds.

DSC_0013.JPG

DSC_0015.JPG

Then he got the chainsaw out and got to work cutting down some of the limbs so hopefully he gets the trees to fall any direction except south.

DSC_0017 (2).JPG

DSC_0021 (2).JPG

DSC_0048.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG
Shortly after making work of the first part of the dead tree the chainsaw started cutting dull, so we stopped to go get a new chain, sadly they are sold out it will be a day or two before they are in, but they do have a sharping service so for $4 we were able to get the blade sharpened when we got back to the site we realized we need thicker diameter rope to help guide the tree in the right direction. There is a State Road sign in front of those trees but also if those trees fall in the road we are not sure we wouldn't get fined and if it hit a car, that wouldn't be good. So we decided to stop working on that and my husband tackled the Japanese Honeysuckle around this bush.

DSC_0066.JPG

At this point I started chatting on Steemit.chat through my phone and didn't capture any more photos of the work being done. Sadly the trees are not completely down yet, only 1/2 of one is down. But at least it is a start. Monday we plan to get up early to get over there to finish it up. Today we didn't get over there till around 3 because of our schedule.

My husband goes back to work tomorrow at his day job, so that work is halted till Monday, but tomorrow I have 3 plumbers scheduled to get us an estimate on what it will cost to run the pipes from the house to the water tap. The Water Tap and Tile is going to cost $820 plus the permit cost and they couldn't tell me what they would be.

I need to next get estimates from electricians to install the meter box to the house and run the line to the hook-up, I know the meter box will cost around $500 I had one installed on a house I bought a few years ago, increased the price on that part by $100 and hoping the 25 ft or so the line will have to be ran from won't be too bad. So it won't be much more than $500. We will see and I am hoping my one cousin will do it for the cost of the part and $20-$30to help his cousin out. I am waiting to hear back from him. I reached out, want an estimate from him and hoping it is obviously a family discount but I am gonna be smart and get outside prices too.

Well till next time my steemian friends.

untitled.png

Sort:  

Running a chainsaw can be a dangerous thing, especially if you don't know what you're doing. Sometimes even when you do know what you're doing, things happen, so it's good to have someone to call 911 if necessary.
Tell your husband that I said he should learn how to sharpen the chain himself. It's not hard at all, it just takes the right size round file and practice. It sure beats having to take the saw to get sharpened every time it gets dull. The local chainsaw dealer should have the proper files for sharpening the chain. It doesn't hurt to take the saw in for a sharpening now and then to keep the teeth even, but it's good to know how to do it yourself so that you don't have to stop in the middle of a job.
I cut a lot of firewood back when I was using it to heat the house, without knowing how to sharpen the chain, it would have been a lot more difficult.

It is all about we don't have a place for him to do that yet. Once we have the garage build he will be able to do that type of thing himself again. We really can't wait. But in the meantime we are making due. Monday the rest will come down and we have a friend that is gonna come and help out too so that is a plus.

For a quick sharpening, you can just set the saw on a stump and do it by hand. Just following the angle of the teeth with the right file is all you need to do for a quick sharpening, and it should be good enough to get the saw to cut again.

thanks for the tip

Thank you I am following you, I hope you will also follow up vote me this honor to me

This post has received a 7.69 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @tecnosgirl.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 13.66 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tecnosgirl.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 2.17 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @tecnosgirl. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 24.95 % upvote from @khoa

thanks to: @tecnosgirl.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@----------------------------------------------SEND ANY AMOUNT TO GET AN UPVOTE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88