Doors are being replaced and fixes underway

in #construction6 years ago (edited)

The correct doors finally arrived

The builder sent his guy down yesterday with it. His helper relapsed so he was sent by himself. As this builder as many know doesn't seem to have the correct people in place to finish the job. They have one guy who knows what he is doing and he is over whelmed with work.

The fixes so far

The wall was the most frustrating for me as the guys that did that damage shouldn't have been in that part of the house in the first place.
Before
20180417_094817.jpg
After
20180418_163837.jpg

The doors

These were what I was most mad about we paid for house doors what arrived with the house was cheap manfacturered home doors. I wasn't happy and tore them a new one over it.
Before
20180417_173423.jpg
After
20180418_163849.jpg

The back door will be installed tomorrow

It is sitting in my living room right now. Waiting to be installed. Then there is a few other odds and ends that need to be fixed but hopefully everything will be finished tomorrow.
20180418_163859.jpg

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Unbelievable. I can't get over how hard it is to find tradesmen who know what they're doing. And good contractors are always struggling to find help. Meanwhile we keep telling kids they've got to go into debt for college when they could make a great living in the trades.

Plus I'm sad because we found a great handyman/carpenter for the last few years, and he just up and died of an asthma attack.

That sucks when you lose a good trade person. My go to plumber died not to long ago. It sucked to have to pay market rates. Cause I always got great deals from him plus he was a great plumber.
My kids can always fall back on this type of work they grew up doing it. We decided we were too tired to do it so we hired it out and dang it one way or another they will do it and do it right. And if slow but right is what it takes then I am fine with that as long as it is right and progress is made.

What happened to that wall?

I have no clue what they did but the guy who fixed it had just pulled off the wall paper to fix the damage to the drywall.

Wow, what a difference! Looks great!

My wife and I have been slowly making repairs and replacing parts of our 120 year old house. At what point in replacement does it become a completely new house? :-D Best wishes...

For us the frustration has been the builder. The builder tried to pass of substandard doors. Finally after going rounds I got the ones we paid for.

You would think that bozo builder would have bought a clue by now & know not to mess with y'all. Glad things are getting fixed properly finally!

Shoot seeing what I have seen. Kids should be looking at trade schools and not college. There is a big need and good money to be made.

Agreed! Almost makes me wish I was young enough and healthy enough to start over in one of those fields.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83