Learning is Life... A story for constrained writing contest.

in #constrainedwriting7 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

"I am learning every moment I am alive therefore the day I quit learning, will be the day I die." The Last Sage

It's really quite strange how it all comes about. When I finished my formal education I thought all my years of complicated learning had come to an end. Then one day and I was watching random YouTube videos as I ate my lunch and I came across something called "How to mine Ethereum with a gpu", or something close to that.

Wtf is Ethereum I said to myself??? Never heard of it. And so it began. What started with a Google search of the word Ethereum ultimately led to where I am at today, sitting here writing this story... and still learning.
I went to med school and studied pharmacology as well as mental health. I would not say any of those were easy tasks but I will say that structured learning has its advantages. For one when I had a question back in those days I would simply go to my professor and ask. Those questions often times would turn into casual conversation and more questions, which eventually leads to a better understanding of what a person is doing.

In the crypto world I have experienced so many different aspects, I wouldn't know where to begin. I am still learning everyday and have no intentions of stopping. My life continually evolves and changes. I really only have one constant, my wife. (and my dog, of course) Because I continue evolving in my life, I must continue to educate. So it has been with crypto's. I started mining Ethereum a couple years ago and last May when things started to ramp up I decided to diversify out of the mining world and into the rest of Cryptodom. I had a few Ether and began to search for more info. In June I came to Steemit. If there was ever a endless fountain of knowledge, it would be known as the Steem Spring. Fresh and fantastic ideas and opinions continually grow and prosper from the digital pages of our Steemit World. It is fantastic in so many ways. Steem has been the hub which I have worked from to invest my Ether out into the world of other great projects. It has shared songs and poems, thoughts and feelings, goods and bads of all sorts and sizes.

With all of this great knowledge out there in the world; we now have access to it right at our fingertips. The only thing I wish I was able to do is talk to the teachers face to face. I am an old school person and maybe I am getting a little bit older as well, therefore I still like human interaction. I am not saying the generations after me do not like human interaction, but most of the younger generations grew up on computers. I grew up in the woods, building tree forts and fishing and hunting. I did not own my first PC till I was 20 and it was huge!! (see pic above) The screen was so big in multiple directions that it would not have even fit on the desk I am using now. I barely had dial-up internet and it was slower than snail shit. Scratch that... it was so damn slow that I would leave for the day with it loading a site and sometimes it would be usable for me when I returned 9-10 hrs later. No joke. That was in 1995. Oh my how things have changed; still reading, still listening, still watching, still learning...

Peace,
The Last Sage

Sort:  

Thank you for participating.

This sentence in particular caught my attention:

If there was ever a endless fountain of knowledge, it would be known as the Steem Spring.

I just love it so much! :D

All in all though, I enjoyed the read, made me re-live the moments of how I got into the world of crypto ^^

Thank you very much for your entry!

Hey thanks for the awesome reply. Glad you enjoyed the read.

And now I start to follow after stumbling onto your grounds
For in this Steemit world, there is so much that goes unfound...

Peace,
The Last Sage

For in this Steemit world, there is so much that goes unfound...

Yeah, that's sad and true... So much awesome content goes unnoticed, and so much poop gets recognition... But if you pick the ones you follow carefully then your feed will be full of just the good stuff, and the posts these people resteem are bound to be something good - which also means you find more quality content ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55